IGNORED

Convert NES Zapper to SNES (FC Twin) controler port?

OPC Other peoples Consoles

Hello all, new to the site but I'm a serious old schooler at heart, having just resurrected my N64 and Dreamcast machines this past week. While talking about fixing them (minor solder trace corrections) a coworker asked me if it were possible to convert her NES zapper gun to the FC Twin (SNES style) controller port. She's provided me a dead controller (spilled pop into it) and the zapper gun. She really wants to play Duck Hunt and Hogans Alley and I'd love to be her hero (hey she's cute, what can I say!?) by making this happen for her. There's only 4 wires on the zapper gun and 7 for the FC Twin controller (which don't color match very closely to the SNES Pinouts I've found) so a yes/no/walkthrough would be wonderful. I'm an experienced tech but don't have most of my usual tools (volt meter, ammeter, etc...) handy at the moment but I'll save that story for another day, so any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Josh in Sioux Falls

***edit***

Sorry for the dupe posting, my computer hiccuped right when I hit submit and I think I ended up hitting it twice in short succession!

Edited by OPC Other peoples Consoles

I don't know if anyone's done it. There's pinout detail of NES Zapper on the internet but there's no pinout detail for the NES clones or NES/SNES twin clones.

It is possible NES Zapper can be hacked, but then again, the required pins on the FC Twin may not be present and NES Zapper games are not compatible.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...
I don't know if anyone's done it. There's pinout detail of NES Zapper on the internet but there's no pinout detail for the NES clones or NES/SNES twin clones.

It is possible NES Zapper can be hacked, but then again, the required pins on the FC Twin may not be present and NES Zapper games are not compatible.