IGNORED

Which titles seem rarer than they're supposed to be?

cmart604

A comment goldenband made about River Raid in the Super Cobra manual thread reminded me I wanted to create this thread.

What I'm wondering is do you find some games are a lot harder to find than they are supposed to be and that some games that are supposed to be hard to find aren't that hard to find at all. (Based on rarity levels they've been assigned.)

I realize it depends on which resource you choose to consult as to rarity but I think there is pretty much a consensus on most games.

I've been reliving my youth collecting INTV since 1999 and I've found that while Fathom is generally considered to be one of the rarest games on the INTV and Thin Ice is thought to be somewhere in the middle rarity-wise, I find it easier to get my hands on Fathom than Thin Ice. ( I have 5 Fathoms, 3 Thin Ice...)

Congo Bongo is another one I think isn't too hard to find ( I didn't say it was cheap. icon_mrgreen.gif) while Defender and Pac Man don't show up as often as I'd think they would.

Spiker on the other hand absolutely lives up to its billing...icon_frown.gif as does Astrosmash ( I think I have 15)

Your 2 cents?

I know what you mean, but i've very frequently the Atari titles for Intellivision and they sell not so expensive, but not cheap either. but at least show up. You do a search for several Intv titles and you get nothing on Ebay (even completed listings). I´m kind of a new collector, so i don´t have monitored Ebay for long. You have more experince..

Haven´t you thinking in giving some carts in adoption to a good collector that will love and will play with them constantly? ;)

I'm a charitable soul that is willing to take the burden! |:)

Super pro football seems like it should be rare, but there is plenty of them around.

Popeye seems like it should be more common, but it seems to go for around 40 bucks CIB.

Don't get me started on Sears Checkers..........:roll: