IGNORED

How difficult is the Intellivision A/V mod?

Rev

I have seen the instructions on how to do it,but i havent used a soldering gun since i was a kid and i really need to do this mod on my main intellivision (and 2600 and colecovision).

So, is it really that hard for a non tech guy like me ? (although i am an electrician) :)

edit: i guess it isnt called the a/v mod but rather the composite mod according to this. My link

Edited by revolutionika

Rev, do you really need this mod, or just doing it kinda "because"?? The reason I ask is; I have only had a few weeks with my first Intellivision and I think the rf output is really, really good compared to other systems. Just curious as to what the main motivators are? The rf doesn't seem anywhere near as good on my Inty 2, so I may consider doing the mod there at the same time as renovating the beat-up controllers. Morgan

BTW: The connection points in the how-to look to be very accessible, compared to the 2600jr. - I think this one would be very easy for solder-noobs like me. Just practice some soldering on some junk electronics first.

Edited by Chuck D. Head

I third the RF option. I tried composite, and it wasn't nearly as good -- because it actually shows up the flaws in the video circuitry. Lots of ghosting.

With RF, using a heavily shielded cable, I get very little interference and the picture looks as good as composite -- without the heavy ghosting.

YMMV, of course.