IGNORED

SN76494 (or SN76489) Arduino project

acadiel

I'm playing around with a SN76494 (same as the SN76489 except it has a 500kHz maximum input clock rate), and attempting to hook it to an Arduino.

I'd like to hook up a speaker to the chip (probably that small Radioshack 9V battery amp that I have), and feed it either DATA from assembly programs or CALL SOUNDS from TI BASIC programs (TI-99DIR will come in handy for exports here), and have it "play" the TI songs.

Wikipedia has a great article with a pinout: http://en.wikipedia....ruments_SN76489

I've also found a guy who has a schematic here of something he did with a MIDI synthesizer: http://little-scale....ega-master.html

Being that I'm still not an EE by trade, and still have to ask questions, I figured I would ask a ton of stupid ones here in hope that I can get the end result up and running like I want.

First question:

1) The guy has a schematic with a 74HC14D up (which is doing clock generation, apparently). Is that still a good way to do it with the SN76494, or does someone have a better idea for a clock generator? What kind of pulse should I be doing? (Being that the 494 apparently has a 500kHz maximum input clock rate.)

As soon as I can get whatever additional parts in (like the 74HC14D if that's what I go with - I have tons of caps and resistors in my kits), I'd like to fire the thing up and write an Arduino program that just feeds the sound chip the equivalent of a CALL SOUND (1000, 440, 2) or something just to verify that it's working. I'll then fire up the other sound channels and noise channel to see if I can get some decent output in them, and then finally write a shell script (or even translating Arduino code) to import the DATA or CALL SOUND statements into the program to play the sound.

Edited by acadiel
  • Like 1