IGNORED

Help with my non-working RCA Studio II

I recently received an RCA Studio II from eBay, that was untested. It came with the original PSU and switch box. I bought this adapter from Radio Shack to connect to my flat screen:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062054&locale=en_US

I connected everything, switched the switch box to RCA Studio II and nothing happened. The red LED light on the console didn't light up at all. I was wondering if it was the RCA PSU. I read that an Atari 2600 PSU works with the RCA Studio II. I tried that, and again nothing.

Is there anything I can do to troubleshoot the system? Also please keep in mind that I'm a newbie when it comes to retro-electronics. :) Thank you!

Could be a bad switch box. I don't know if that's any better than the system itself being dead, though, since you'll probably have to buy another system anyway just to get a switchbox.

Did a black screen at least come up when you switched to Studio II? Did the Studio II beep or make any kind of noise?

This thread:

http://www.atariage....uction-manager/

...should be of some value to you. You might be able to get your Studio II up and running again courtesy of somebody very familiar with them...

Thank you, I've been following the thread, I just didn't want to derail the topic. :) But your idea does sound like a good one, so I'll give it a shot and post there. Thanks!

You say you are a newbie when it comes to retro-electronics. Does that mean you're a newbie to electronics in general? If you can competently run a soldering iron, I think it's possible to inject power directly into the console @ the 5V regulator. This would eliminate the switchbox as a suspect. (But, don't hook the console up to the TV at this point.)