IGNORED

ALTIRRA 2.40 input frustration (photo heavy)

Root_Of_All_Beer

Hello, for the life of me, I just can't figure this out. I've tried everything except screw up my computer just to make things happen. Pictures enclosed below 1-9, please can someone give us all a better step-by-step procedure on what to do? I'm trying to play games off of just my standard USB keyboard instead of joystick (just like M.A.M.E. and all the other emulators I've been running since 1999):

post-38771-0-72089900-1395713927_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-60553200-1395713943_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-58588700-1395713952_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-08433100-1395713963_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-44274300-1395713985_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-65947400-1395713996_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-23900600-1395714009_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-65367100-1395714019_thumb.jpg

post-38771-0-04494500-1395714028_thumb.jpg

Well, it'd help if you explained in more detail what you were trying to do.

If all you needed was keyboard control of the emulated joystick, then just selecting the default Input > Port 1 > Arrow Keys -> Joystick setting would have done the trick. Since your screenshots show the fire button bound to Enter instead of Ctrl, I assume that's what you were trying to change. You were on the right track with editing the input map, but you didn't need to edit the map entries manually -- you can just hit Rebind and then you can just type the key you want bound to each input going down the list. After you're done, the modified input map will show up on the Input > Port X menus, so you don't have to go back into the dialog to select them.

You're probably right about everything you're telling me, but I'm just not getting it to do anything right. Here, I'll explain with images:

3rd image on this reply (titled "ALTIRRA 8") I selected as you told me in that order, as seen with proof. I do not recall making my "CTRL" in place of my "ENTER" button, but oh well.... Either way, neither of them can even start any game.