IGNORED

Commodore 64 emulator disk image (.d64) help need

Greetings!

I will start by saying that I am new to the C64, and to GEOS - so please excuse my ignorance :). That said I will jump right in:

As far as I can tell from about 50 internet searches, it appears that .d64 images are not writeable while mounted in an emulator. Running GEOS on MESS (v0.151), I get the following error whenever I try to launch an application:

GEOS_nowrite.png

Is there a way to work around this? I noticed that I get the same error with .g64 images as well. It is unfortunate that these .d64 images are not writeable in emulation - it seems like they should be. Have I missed something? Sorry again about my ignorance - TI-99/4A was my first computer, and though I did have a little bit of experience with the Commodore 'back in the day', I'm still pretty green with the system.

Thanks for reading :D.

WinVICe is the emulator of choice for the C64, and it does their other 8-bit machines as well.

.D64 definately is writable, maybe it's just a MESS limitation that you're experiencing.

MESS is generally a pain to use compared to dedicated emulators, the few Meg that each dedicated emulator takes up is a small price to pay for the extra ease of use.

• Like 1

WinVICe is the emulator of choice for the C64, and it does their other 8-bit machines as well.

.D64 definately is writable, maybe it's just a MESS limitation that you're experiencing.

MESS is generally a pain to use compared to dedicated emulators, the few Meg that each dedicated emulator takes up is a small price to pay for the extra ease of use.

Interesting - I was sure under the impression that D64s were not writeable (in emulation, of course ;) - I've had no problem using VICE's c1541 tool to write files to an image, but that's outside of emulation).