IGNORED

Colecovision Speed Control Dial Mod? (Is it possible?)

parkfun101

I'm a bit new to the electronics bit, but I have made my own AV mods, Power indicator leds, done the Rocker Power switch mod (definitely recommended) and have done the Pause mod on Colecovisions, but I was wondering about a mod that I haven't heard about. Is it possible to make a Colecovision have a speed dial or to make it a bit faster and/or slower (perhaps with a potentiometer)? The reason I like this idea as a mod is the same reason I don't play Street Fighter II anymore, instead I play Street Fighter II Turbo. I like the faster speed. However, in some games for Colecovision like Montezuma's Revenge, I think the game moves a bit too fast and would like to slow it down. Think of going back through your entire Colecovision collection and replaying all of your games at a slightly faster or slower speed. This would perhaps increase or decrease the difficulty and would be a pretty AWESOME mod since it would affect the actual gameplay.

I have 4 Colecovisions to test this out on, but I need the community's help to do some tests. I'm not up on all the jargon, but if you say that part at U22, replace it with bla bla bla. I understand that. I know people are a bit reluctant to fool around with changes like this on their own system, that's what I'm here for. You give me an idea of what parts to change/modify or whatever, and I'll fool around with my extra Colecos and perhaps we, as a community, can create one of the coolest mods EVER for a Colecovision. On top of that, I'll make up FULL documentation on what changes would be needed and re-post on this site so anyone (with a soldering iron) could do it. I may even post a YouTube video as well.

So, if you have any ideas, please feel free to post them below.