IGNORED

Ban Dai Pac Man Plug N Play system

Paranoid

So, a few years ago Jakks came out with a wired and then a wireless Ms. Pac Man PnP system... and both had their issues that reduced them to pretty much sucking.

It looks like Ban Dai has picked up the torch and finally delivered something closer to what those two earlier systems from Jakks should have been.

I picked the device up today at Toys R Us for $25. It includes 12 classic games. Ms. Pac Man is unfortunately nowhere in sight... but in her place you get...

Pac Man

Pac Man 256 (which starts you from level 255)

Pac & Pal

Pac Man Plus

Super Pac Man

New Rally X

Galaxian

Galaga

Xevious (the whole reason I've been buying these damn PnP devices for 10 years now in the first place).
Bosconian

Mappy

and

Dig Dug

So the lineup is interesting. In particular, the Jakks devices revived my taste for both Rally X and Mappy... and Galaxian and Galaga are staples... Bosconian is one of those titles that always seemed to be broken when I was a kid... but I enjoyed it whenever I found a machine that was working decent... and of course Dig Dug is a classic.

For me, honestly, a quality hardware device with Xevious alone would make me happy.

So far... this device seems to be that. The joystick is responsive and doesn't suffer from delayed or missed inputs, stickiness, or any of the other problems that plagued the Jakks devices. Likewise, the buttons have a good feel to them.

I can't say how durable the device will be over time... but you know, the games are playable and enjoyable... something that the hardware simply prevented from being the case with the Jakks units.

If you bought either of those and were disappointed - and you have a fond spot for any of these titles... this is the best retail version I've seen so far short of buying some $3000 multi-game emulator or fixing up your own system with something like the X-Arcade joystick.

A cheap, quick-fix method to get your retro game buzz filled.