IGNORED

Ninja Wall Jump game - WIP

walaber

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this forum. I'm a game designer/programmer for my day job, working on mobile games. Lately I've been getting into 2600 programming, with the initial idea of porting a prototype I made for mobile over to the 2600.

It's been a lot of fun getting back into assembly coding, I haven't really touched it since high school, when I learned some Z85 asm to make games for my graphing calculator :grin:

The game is a simple one-button game: a ninja is sliding down a wall, tap the button to jump away and slide down the other wall. There is an opening on the right, make it through and you are in the next room (the opening closes behind you).

It has roughly analog input, e.g. the longer you hold the button, the higher you will jump. As you progress the position of the door changes, and the size of the door opening gradually decreases. Spikes also appear that you have to avoid as well.

I've been working on the 2600 version for about a week or so now, and I'm really pleased with the progress so far. :)

here is a screenshot:

post-40857-0-40567000-1416985314_thumb.png

And a short video I posted on Vine:

https://vine.co/v/O1PTebm37er

I'm currently working on getting a basic footer that will display what "room" you are in (this is essentially your score). After that I need to get collision detection between the player and spikes (this triggers a game over), and then work on fixing bugs and adjusting the feel of the timing, maybe adding some more animation frames for the player, adding some sound effects, etc.

Any feedback is welcome!

• Like 12

Thanks for the encouraging notes everyone! I've now got a rudimentary 2-digit score display working on the bottom of the screen: my first attempt at an asymetrical playfield, and also figuring out how to turn a score into two digits lined up in PF1 (because that's the easy non-mirrored byte).