IGNORED

Best 2600 Games for Kids

adamchevy

I am trying to help my kids get a start with the 2600. My kids are 8 and 5 years old. So far they have really enjoyed Keystone Kaper, pacman, Galaxian, and Outlaw. If you have any other suggestions I would greatly appreciate it as I am relatively new to the 2600 library.post-36990-0-43531700-1423364104_thumb.jpg

There are 4 Sesame Street titles, though you would need the controller and overlays. Also Mickey Mouse Sorcerer's Apprentice and Pigs in Space, though those are a little more expensive.

Hangman is cool and will help them with vocabulary. Video Pinball should keep them busy for hours. Superman is fun and they'll probably like the ability to fly from screen to screen. Any of the sports games if they are into that will entertain them if they play against each other.

Phil

• Like 1

My 7 year old is on a Demon Attack kick. Also loves Jungle Hunt, Adventure, Breakout. My younger ones like Combat, Air Sea Battle, Haunted House.

I agree with sloth-machine that the controls seem to be a defining factor. They love the swinging action on Jungle Hunt with just a push of the button, as opposed to Pitfall where there's a lot going on and it's too easy to die.

• Like 1

Cute picture. Is that a Genesis controller? I didn't realize the cords were that long!

If you have a set of paddle controllers I'd recommend Kaboom. It's a blast :) They would probably also like Circus Atari and Warlords.