IGNORED

CF Aztecmonster

gozar

You would need the new MIO rom, but looks like this would be a good substitute for the IDE<>SCSI bridge from ACARD. I'm no SCSI expert, but I'd want to investigate further about the forms of SCSI it supports. To me, the "SCSI 3 Available" is a caution flag. All that said, if you try one, do let us know. I'd probably take the gamble, but I already have a couple of the ACARD bridges that work very well with the new rom.

Now the other side of the coin... if you want to use your MIO, I get that, but this device actually costs more than getting a new IDE+2 from Simius. (But then when does money deter us from our hobbies?) ;)

-Larry

• 4 weeks later...

Now the other side of the coin... if you want to use your MIO, I get that, but this device actually costs more than getting a new IDE+2 from Simius. (But then when does money deter us from our hobbies?) ;)

The *real* question is where can you purchase an IDE+2?

• 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...

The aztecmonster uses the same chip as the Acard, so it probably does work fine with the MIO. Those other two devices you guys linked probably do not.

The MIO is not a full legal implementation of the SCSI standard. Regardless of the updated MIO Firmware, the MIO is missing an actual signal from the SCSI bus that has been the main means of SCSI arbitration since SCSI-II (Actually, even all but the earliest pre-SCSI-II drives depend on it.) The only devices that do work with the MIO are those whose firmware knows how to support a very archaic arbitration scheme that has not been in common use since the earliest days of embedded SCSI. We cannot "fix" the MIO to make it include this additional needed signal without breaking compatability with anything/everything concerning the original MIO.