Jump to content

Photo

How To: Replace the Obsolete Cassette Port with a VGA Connector


16 replies to this topic

#1 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:21 PM

I've always thought since upgrading my TI with the F18A Video Board, the position of the VGA connector in the middle of the back of the case wasn't very aesthetically pleasing and it was a PITA re-connecting the hex screws every time I opened it up. I have a spare TI that I use for donor parts and I thought that if I can remove the cassette port which is the same size and shape as the VGA connector, it would look a lot better. Also, it would only need two small holes either side for the hex screws, no other cutting the case would be needed. 

 

I used a solder sucker to remove the solder from the solder side and carefully removed the old port in one piece.

 

img_1568.jpg

 

Next, the metal shielding needs to be cut along the edge behind where the old cassette port was so that the VGA cable from the F18A can be routed to where the port was.

 

img_1570.jpg

 

img_1571.jpg

 

Next, the holes for the hex screws need to be made. I placed the old cassette port connecter in its old cut out as its the same shape and size as a male VGA connector, making sure that the bottom of the port touches the case and is straight along the top edge. I then used a 7/64" drill bit to mark the holes by pushing it into the holes of the old cassette port so that it then touched and marked the case, by hand. Once marked, I then used the same bit to make the holes.

 

img_1577.jpg

 

A small piece of plastic has to removed from the GROM assembly that is secured to the case by 2 small screws. Remove the assembly and using a small hacksaw, cut off about half. This is to allow the VGA connector enough room to sit comfortably in place. This is where the power socket sits.

 

img_1575.jpg

 

 

img_1576.jpg

 

Line up the holes and the hex screws can be screwed into place.

 

img_1578.jpg

 

img_1579.jpg

 

All done!

 

img_1580.jpg

 

img_1581.jpg

 

img_1582.jpg

 

 

Thanks to Omega for the blue LEDs.


Edited by wyerd, Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:23 PM.


#2 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,897 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:25 PM

You sure have a nice looking system there. :)

Thanks for the post.

#3 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,206 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:34 PM

Nice indeed! But hey... the cassette port is "obsolete", but the computer itself isn't? :rolling:

#4 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 4,391 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:36 PM

cool solution, very nice setup. :)



#5 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,897 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:04 PM

I couldn't lose my cassette port... love my cassettes too much. :)

But it is a very cool solution. :)

#6 Shift838 ONLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,431 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:26 PM

very nice..



#7 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 12,978 posts

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:16 PM

Excellent thread/post. :thumbsup: 

I can see that this one will be revisited over and over again in the coming years.  Very well done!  This is another one I'll have to bookmark in my 'special thread' folder.



#8 Imperious OFFLINE  

Imperious

    Chopper Commander

  • 172 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

Posted Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:04 PM

I knew I should have patented that design :)

 

Thanks for putting up the "How-to", something I failed to do. I actually used a smaller drill bit first as I wasn't sure how brittle the plastic might be,

also I had to file the hex screws down to fit the VGA cable in, due to the VGA connector being recessed into the case a bit.

Mine is a beige case, so maybe some minor differences there.  
 

Attached Files


Edited by Imperious, Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:07 PM.


#9 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • 574 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 4:56 AM

Very elegant solution!

 

I finally got my own F18A and installed it over the weekend, but I'm not sure where to put the VGA connector.  I was thinking of removing the old video connector, but I couldn't get it off the mainboard by physical means.  Has anybody gone that route before?

 

Your pictures above seem to suggest that you connected your TI to both composite video and VGA -- wouldn't the old video connector be dead with the F18A installed?



#10 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 416 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:33 AM

I'm still using the old video port for the audio. I made up a cable with a 3.5mm audio connector on the end.

#11 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 416 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:38 AM

http://www.mainbyte....es/monitor.html

#12 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • 574 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 5:57 AM

I'm still using the old video port for the audio. I made up a cable with a 3.5mm audio connector on the end.

 

Doh ...  Totally forgot about audio!   :o   Well, fortunately I couldn't get the connector off last night.  :lol:



#13 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 12,978 posts

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:18 AM

 

Doh ...  Totally forgot about audio!   :o   Well, fortunately I couldn't get the connector off last night.  :lol:

 

 If you decide to make up an audio only cable, this is a good connector at a good price... delivered right to your mailbox.

 << HERE >>



#14 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • 574 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:17 AM

 If you decide to make up an audio only cable, this is a good connector at a good price... delivered right to your mailbox.  << HERE >>

 

Well, since it's a standard DIN (= German Institute for Standardization) connector I might even have the matching cable already at home.  ;-)  AFAIR those were quite common before Japanese audio and cinch took over.



#15 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 416 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:00 PM

 
 If you decide to make up an audio only cable, this is a good connector at a good price... delivered right to your mailbox.
 >

Don't forget the euro version has 6 pins.
9564756608_050ab2f7fe_b.jpg

Edited by wyerd, Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:08 PM.


#16 wyerd OFFLINE  

wyerd

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 416 posts
  • Location:Lake George, NY

Posted Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:06 PM

Doh ...  Totally forgot about audio!   :o   Well, fortunately I couldn't get the connector off last night.  :lol:


9890a3feedc935e980b79bb1f4ebb915.jpg

#17 dphirschler OFFLINE  

dphirschler

    Moonsweeper

  • 443 posts
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Fri May 27, 2016 8:27 PM

I desoldered the audio/video port and put a standard 1/8" audio connector. 

Attached File  IMG_20160523_225215_.jpg   113.14KB   1 downloads

 

To see more photos, look in this thread:

http://atariage.com/...-2#entry3511398

http://atariage.com/...-3#entry3516448

 

 

Darryl






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users