IGNORED

Super Pro Utopia?

intvdave

I played Utopia often enough as a youngster, but not since then. It is best played with two players and so a "player vs computer" mode would be great.

I've not played this game in so long that I don't even know what enhancements I was dreaming of from way back then.

What about if used with an ESC, then you can have a 4 person game, but I guess the islands would be too small at that point. And then you have two people vs two computers

I never played Utopia but have the code disasembled. The manual states one player mode is to score as much points as possible. I am going to guess some of you want a one player mode with the computer playing the second player. What other updates are needed for this game?

I've always thought that it would be nice to have various islands to choose from.

Is it too complicated? Or would it be too much work?

I'm not a programmer so I have no idea..

EDIT: and of course, it would be awesome to have it with the "1-player vs. computer" mode

Edited by intellivotion
  • Like 1

Pleeeeeeease do this one Dave! :) Yes, for starters a one player mode would be critical. Beyond that I'll have to revisit this game but certainly randomized islands if possible would be great. Also introducing new buildings, resources, ships would seem to make sense.

• Like 3

The single most important thing would be a 1-player mode with computer A.I.

With more maps, or randomly generated maps you'd have to be careful making sure the weather was equal between the two islands.

3 or 4-player brings up the possibility of alliances and stuff, but does the Intellivision have a multitap? Weren't the original 2 controllers hardwired in? So I'm not sure if that's realistic or possible.

New building/resources/ships should not go beyond what the keypad is able to provide. 12 keys for options is already loads for the time period we are talking about here. Don't get too complicated.

Just my thoughts.

• Like 3