IGNORED

Atari STe 1040 damaged by shipment overseas

fransatari

Hello all,

What an excellent forum! I've read here for sometime now.

Been using my STe 4 mb RAM for years for Cubase and composing music. It's also got some great synth editors!

I recently moved back to the UK from the United States, and my STe upon unpacking is not working.

There appears to be no physical damage, however only the power light is coming on when I try to boot.

No video output, and the FD 3.5" is not even trying to read. No light on it. Not even a faint one.

There's also no audio.

I've reseated the RAM, but that's about it. No luck with that by the way.

I do have a 520 which I've swapped the PSU with, but nothing doing there either. The 1040 supply is working fine.

Just something on the MB is not!

I'm no electronics engineer, but I do understand a multimeter. I don't see any discoloration or cracks on the MB, but maybe I ought to check somewhere specific? Capacitors also look OK.

Anybody have any ideas? Is it worth trying to fix, or should I say goodbye to my loyal friend since 1990 and replace him with a new Atari?

Thanks,

Fran

Probably some of the socketed chips have come loose during transit - I can't imagine if there is no obvious physical damage that an ST would die - they are tough as nails (one went into space). Look for any socketed chips on the motherboard and either remove them and reseat them or give them a firm (but not too hard) push to make sure they are seated properly. Try also unplugging the floppy drive and starting without it.

The ST should produce at least some video if it's getting power- is there anything any signal coming out of the monitor port at all?

How are you converting (or how did you convert) the voltage to account for the difference between UK and US?

So you have a working 520 (STE?), and when you swap PSUs the 520 still works and the 1040 still doesn't?

Edited by galax

Hi Moonsweeper.