IGNORED

Astrocade Help

bah

Hi all. I have a later Bally Computer system that has started to show signs of a problem. I have owned it for a year but around Christmas it began to change colors after being on for a few minutes. Reds go brown and blues and greens tend to go grey. I have not run it much since this started and I shut it off immediately when I notice it.

I have not run it on a carpet or let its vents get blocked. After the first time the symptoms showed up, I checked out the voltages and added heat sinks with thermal grease to the 3 custom ICs. The power supply checks out and the chips are getting the voltages they should. I have also replaced the electrolytic caps, all to no avail.

Any advice what to look for? Is there a known problem area that can make the colors go dark? This console still operates and plays when it does this. Also, turning it off for even 30 seconds will bring the colors back.

Thanks for reading.

I'm not an Astrocade expert. In lieu of specific knowledge about the machine, maybe a little bit of freeze-spray could help you localize any thermally sensitive parts?

Just a short blip of a blast. You don't need frosting forming. Especially if you get it right at the point it starts doing it.

Edited by Keatah

Any advice what to look for? Is there a known problem area that can make the colors go dark? This console still operates and plays when it does this. Also, turning it off for even 30 seconds will bring the colors back.

In a thread about a month ago, someone on this forum had an Astrocade with similar problems to you, although he lost all color-- his unit turned B&W-only. He traced this issue down to a bad RF modulator. For details, and where to get a replacement RF modulator for the Astrocade, see this post in the thead:

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/250354-one-working-one-to-go/?do=findComment&comment=3489703