IGNORED

ADAM had a pirated operating system?

SoulBlazer

So I happened to be on the Old Computers website today looking up some systems and decided to check their entry on the Coleco ADAM.

The comments section was very interesting. You can find it yourself at http://www.oldcomputers.net/adam.html

You had one person saying they had helped work on the assembly line and the QA was horrible:

Name: Allen Location: Saratoga Springs NY Date: Fri, Sep 02, 2016 - 19:48:43 PST
Comments: I am amazed any of these things still exist, I worked as an inspector on the assembly line in 1983 and 1984. We were lucky if we could pass 1 in a day the first year we would run the line for a few minutes then shut down for an hour so the engineers could try to figure out a solution a new chip or something and off we went over and over again. The second year was a bit better.

But what REALLY got my attention was this comment about the OS:

Name: Lou Ploch Contact: Location: new jersey Date: Tue, Nov 03, 2015 - 14:36:47 PST
Comments: Having done work for both Apple & Commodore, Coleco contacted my company to produce some additional software and provided me with the source code of their operating system. It looked like something I had seen before, and sure enough it turned out to be a lot of pirated Applesoft code. I called them back and explained what I had discovered & all they said was RETURN EVERYTHING IMMEDIATELY. So much for the ADAM. I notified Apple and they basically told me that it was a toy from a toy company GOING NOWHERE. Whats worse, we never really got it to work. A BAD IDEA from Coleco.

I've never heard anything about this before. Is there any truth to this?

I certainly doubt about this, because Apple always used 6502 code and the Coleco ADAM is Z80.

Operating system? the Apple disk format used 256 byte sectors while Coleco stand at 1K.

I believe he is thinking in Franklin Ace or some of these Apple clones https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Apple_II_clones

• Like 3