IGNORED

Type-in Programs

wh5k

I'm still a very novice developer, and I would be interested in hearing what people thought of old type-in programs. I've enjoyed going through them, either on an Atari 400/800 emulator or in QBASIC on an older PC. Am I doing myself more harm than good? I've really enjoyed the challenge of going from Atari BASIC to first-gen Microsoft BASIC and vice versa, or even from them to QBASIC and even VBScript. I took a class in Python this last semester and have been practicing my Python that way -- converting them.

I would also like to know if anyone can provide any resources for type-in 6502 Assembly programs for the Atari or C64. From what I understand, it wasn't anywhere near as common as BASIC but it wasn't unheard of for magazines of the 8-bit era to publish like ten pages of ASM code. Laborious as it sounds I'm wondering if that wouldn't help me get a jump start in Assembly programming.

Edited by wh5k
  • Like 1

Many of us learned BASIC programming by typing in programs, analyzing and sometimes modifying them. Since you already port listings, you have a good understanding of the dialects. I think that is a good way of doing it. I remember many readers of e.g. COMPUTE! would ask the magazine if they could obtain the translation software they used. In reality, all the listings published for multiple formats were hand translated.