IGNORED

Using keyboard for controls instead of joystick

I want to use the keyboard arrow keys to control left and right in a basic game, as an alternative to a joystick option.

I thought this would be simple, but realized I guess I've never done this before on the Atari because it's actually not working very well!

What I want is just a momentary on switch. If the left arrow is pressed do something ( but only while it is pressed ), if the right arrow is pressed do something else ( but only while it is pressed ). If neither are pressed, do nothing.

If I use a PEEK(764) the problem is that then it stays the same value until another key is pressed. So if the left arrow is pressed once and then released, it continues to read as if it is pressed until another key is pressed. That is not what I need. I tried POKEing 0 or 255 into 764 in between each PEEK(764) but that results in a very jerky and inconsistent reading. Like you have to tap the arrow key over and over. I want to be able to press the arrow key and hold it down as long as the user wants....just like a joystick would work.

I also tried OPENing K: and GET, but that is no good because it pauses and waits for input.

In Turbo Basic XL i tried using the INKEY$ function, but it essentially seems to behave similar to PEEK(764) from this standpoint.

Surely there is a way to do this because I know of multiple games that allow a keyboard control option with similar behavior to a joystick.

What's the trick? And can it be done from basic ( or TBXL) ?

Thanks!!!

-Eric

Keyboard isn't a very good control method on the Atari because the time-saving Pokey key scan in fact limits detecting multiple key presses.

That means multiplayer simultaneous kb games are near impossible and single player ones are cumbersome.

Exceptions are - the console keys are always independant and not affected by each other or normal keys.

- Shift key can be detected independantly but there's no differentiation between each of them.