IGNORED

Inflate/Deflate Improving the speed of decompression

I have recently seen that "Inflate.asm" has been downsized so it can inflate into RAM faster and the routine to use less space? I did a few things with it over the years to see if it can inflate any faster. But this was program is outside my normal knowledge dealing with compression. Many times I experimented with something to optimized it, can get garbage loaded into RAM. I did see it was originally inefficient with CPU usage, had many extra JSR calls that could be removed. Anybody else do anything with this program?

Hmmmm, whenever the inflate routine was used in an A8 program, it was stated later: "inflate routine by FoX", so you most likely have to ask FoX about it... ;-) His real world name is Piotr Fusik and you can find some code and info at Github:

https://github.com/pfusik/zlib6502

https://github.com/pfusik/zlib6502/commit/3faede80c34b7a060715873e4834d1fe3acebbfa

And no, I am not a programmer, so I never do anything with ASM sources (or any other programming sources)...

I managed to improve the speed further inside the getbits_loop by branching out only when the getBit_buffer equals 0 since branching takes an extra cycle if taken.

I see many things that could be done. It mainly depends ob how much space you want to trade for speed.

The getBits_loop could be unrolled completely (max 8 times) getting rid of 12 JSR/RET cylces per bit.

Also store_byte shoud be moved to ZP with absolute addressing to get rid of () and LDY.

• Like 2

The speed of decompression has been in my mind the last few weeks on and off.

Here's a situation that I wonder about and maybe some of you have some rough ideas here:

- If I have 5kb of compressed data on a standard Atari disk

- Lets say there is around 8kb overall data once decompressed

- Standard 1050 being used....