IGNORED

Atari 850 Interface

toddtmw

So, I got an Atari 850 Interface off of eBay. It lights up, but I've never used one before.

I'm trying to print to a Panasonic KX-P1091 that powers up and prints the test lines of text when you turn it on with the button pressed.

Then, I bought a DB15 extension cable and a DB25 to Parallel cable and then used breadboard jumpers with the male pins bent at the tip so they get friction inside the female side of the DB15 cable and forced the female sides down over the pins on the male side of the DB25 end of the printer cable.

I used this pinout for the female cable (My logic is that this should be exactly like the female port on the 850 interface):

850 Printer Port (15-pin female connector):
                     1. ~Data Strobe
                     2. Data bit 0
                     3. Data bit 1
8               1   4. Data bit 2
  o o o o o o o o    5. Data bit 3
   o o o o o o o     6. Data bit 4
15             9    7. Data bit 5
                     8. Data bit 6
                     9. Data pins pull-up (+5v)
                     11. Signal ground
                     12. ~Fault (Must be +5 for printer port to operate)
                     13. Busy
                     15. Data bit 7

And ran them to the equivalent (I think) correct pin on the DB25 that corresponds to this:

36-pin Centronics (male)  |     DB15P (850 Interface)
                1                         1 - Data Strobe
                2                         2 - D0
                3                         3 - D1
                4                         4 - D2
                5                         5 - D3
                6                         6 - D4
                7                         7 - D5
                8                         8 - D6
               16                        11 - Gnd
               32                        12 - Fault
               11                        13 - Busy
                9                        15 - D7