IGNORED

Help with atari programming & game idea (with html5 demo)

Coolcrab

Hi all,

I am a long time lurker and fan of the 2600 and I would like to contribute in my own way to the games library. However I am very new to the language and not 100% sure about the limitations.

The setup of the player is close to that of Commando Raid, but instead of bullets I would like to have a continuous beam shooting out of it. (Is this possible?) This would symbolize the 'field of view' of a telescope that needs to observe stars. In the skies there would be X stars that rotate around the center of the screen. (is this possible or should they have a jagged path?)

The stars would have a selected 'observing time' (random health) and need to be pointed at for that number of time. (can this be done, or do they all have to have the same HP?) Once a star is observed it is taken off the map(+1 score) and a new target is selected (a new enemy is spawned at a random point, would this work? can you make it spawn at random points and still make the same circle?)

If the star leaves the room then the observation has failed and you lose a life. Lose 3 and you get fired.

Perhaps more stars can be introduced when the score reaches a certain number?

So if you guys could tell me if this is 1) possible at all and 2) point me to some relevant tutorials on the above questions.

I quickly threw together a 'demo' in HTML5. It's a bit glitchy with some stars getting infinite HP and spawning outside of the room and giving you a negative score. But the idea should be clear. Possibly this could also be a 2 player thing with rivaling astronomers. IMO this would be ideal as a paddle game.