IGNORED

How many homebrews released on cartridge each year?

insertclevernamehere

So I'm new to retro gaming, having recently purchased my 2nd ever Atari last December with a gap of 33 years in between the latest one and my last. I was blown away at the concept of homebrews, not even aware of such a thing prior to doing research. When I discovered AtariAge and their online store, it wasn't long before I ordered a copy of both Super Cobra Arcade and Draconian, both of which are completely awesome. Now I assumed that the 3 new homebrews available for the Atari 2600 in October and the previous 7 made available in the summer was an average number that I could expect each year. But going back to earlier years, it seems that 2017 had a bit of a bumper crop. Was 2017 an anomaly and I shouldn't expect as many homebrews released on cartridge and boxed in subsequent years, or is the homebrew scene getting larger and I can expect as many or more homebrews each year in the future?

• Like 1

Welcome back to Atari gaming! Nice choices for your first homebrews (admittedly, I'm biased ;) ).

There is no set release schedule or predictable numbers of games in any given year. It all depends on who happens to be working on a game, and when they finish it. Some homebrews take months to complete, some take years. Some many years. :ponder: Homebrew authors work on games when they have the time. It's a hobby, and like any hobby, people tire of it at times and need a break, or just get busy with other things. Development is really unpredictable. Some years have seen a lot of releases, some almost none. But there's always something being worked on, somewhere.

Meanwhile, there's still a pretty huge back catalog of homebrews to catch up on. :D

• Like 2

Glad you enjoyed those games, reviews are always nice* <hint hint> ;)