IGNORED

Having 32K Vs. Not?

bretthorror

Do I need the 32K expansion to enjoy gaming on it for the most part? I doubt the system has a "killer app", but will I be missing out on the better games not having the expansion? Are the factory joysticks good or is there a better option? Would love to hear from anyone who has an opinion on this system because I'm literally starting out with zero knowledge.

I'm a total beginner with the TI-99/4A and aside from an old Vic 20 I had as a 5 year old (it busted), I don't really know/remember anything about classic computers. I plan to get the flash cart from The Brewing Academy and the system I purchased came with the voice synth module. I love old school games and have virtually every home cart/CD console ever made, so I know I'm gonna love it, but seeing as I am gonna get the flash cart anyways, I'm trying to avoid checking Youtube reviews/gameplay footage to be surprised when I load up my cart. I have bad luck with early 80s consoles functioning properly (75% of "tested" items I have bought from that era have arrived non functional, which is why I haven't dabbled into more computers), but I found this one in the wild with a return guarantee. I purchased the RCA cord and it looks and functions immaculately, so I've already developed a soft spot for the system, despite not even having tried out the one game it came with (Jawbreaker II), and a stack of about 15 manuals that were included in the original box with the console.

Thanks in advance, would love to hear any useful tidbits about the system and what it has to offer.

Edited by bretthorror
Wrong Flashcart
  • Like 1