IGNORED

How come nobody knows about the Lynx?

bluejay

Just wondering, how the hell did the Gameboy defeat the Lynx and the Game Gear by so much? I can understand how the Gameboy was about half the price of the Lynx and the Game Gear, but obviously, the Lynx and the Game Gear is way more capable, with backlit color screens. It's like a $1000 gaming PC being destroyed by a Nintendo Switch. I don't think it makes sense that almost nobody even remembers the Lynx and the Game Gear, while everybody knows what a Gameboy is.

I am Lynx owner since the 2000s. The Lynx has some nice games, but I being a realist here.

I can speak about the Lynx compare to Game Boy.  I was a grade school student in the United States when the Lynx and Game Boy came out in 1989.  If you were in 5th grade like I was at the time, there was a size difference between the two systems along with battery life besides being more expensive. I knew students who owned Game boy when it first came out.  

I did not own  Game Boy at all, and it took me GBC to own a handheld. I did not like Game Boy's Screen at all just like I didn't like Game Gear's Screen. The Lynx was too expensive at the time for anyone who was a grade school student in 1989 and trust me, my parents did not want to spend the $180.00 for a handheld in 1989. 

Back in 1989, Nintendo was looked at more kindly by people than Atari was. Atari was not considered cool in 1989 and I am saying that as an Atari 2600 Jr. owner back when when Game boy and the Lynx was released. Atari was not considered in at the school I attended compare to the Nes.

The first thing is the Lynx had a small game library and not a lot of 3rd party titles. Game Gear even had more than 3rd party titles than the Lynx.