IGNORED

Streets of Rage clone for the Jag?

marcio_napoli

Hi,

This thread is mostly for Sporadic to chime in, but any other developer, feel free to join.

I'll start by saying I have little credentials in the gaming world, so you're free to take my thread with a grain of salt.

I'm no programmer, but I've been creating visual content (in the form of photography, filmmaking, 2d and 3d visual effects, post production, art direction, 3d modeling, 2d artwork, etc) for more than 20 years now, both at commercial level or for myself.  These are mentioned as the closest thing I have as credentials.

I came accross this video, showing Sporadic was working on a beat 'em up Jag game. (the project is no more, I guess)

If there's one game I'd dream to see on the Jag, it would be a Streets of Rage close.

Sporadic, you already have a beat 'em up engine running on real hardware, it seems.

If I volunteered to produce the art work for sprites and background levels, would you consider finishing this game?

Before anyone gets curious, I was planning this for a while now, to create the art work for such game and suggest it here.  Since I came accross Sporadic's work, I got twice as motivated.

If it matters, I was planning on creating character sprites from digitized actors (aiming for minimal chesse, minimal corny, honestly trying to be a worthy, serious effort), and background art work would be made from a mix of techniques: photography and pre-rendered realistic 3d environments (subway, bar, metal bridge, bus, etc).

The goal:

A gritty, realistic looking (not cartoonish in any way) take on a Streets of Rage clone, with serious effort being made to have a nice, realistic tone. No cheese whatsoever, at least not like many games with digitized actors from the 90s.