IGNORED

Coco 2 Serial Output

ryushi5

I'm new to 8-bit machines, and this is my first Coco 2. So far, everything seems to work on the machine as it appears to be in very good condition. The only thing I have found so far is that the large 4700uF cap seems to have leaked a little, and I have a replacement coming for it.

Here is what I am having trouble with: I would like to output simple serial communication using the RS-232C port. Nothing complicated, just a few characters.

The only way that I have found to do this so far is to print as if to a printer with the command below:

PRINT #-2, CHR$(49)

Whenever I attempt to print like this, the machine freezes and will not respond to any inputs unless I reset the machine.

I have tested the RS-232C output by poking 65312 as suggested in the repair manual. This works, and I get a little less than 5V between GRD and pin 4 on the JK3 port.

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong?

Sadly, no. 

DLOAD is the most obscure command in the Color Computer and absorbs a substantial amount of space in the ROM. DLOAD is so poorly understood because Tandy has never made the necessary companion routine, DSEND. DLOAD will DOWNLOAD a file over the RS 232 line from another system, however there is no companion routine, which will transmit a file over the RS 232 line to another Color Computer. Once a DSEND routine is built and made available to the masses, DLOAD will be much better understood.

Extended Basic Unravelled II p. 5

This commented ROM source code may answer the questions about the serial port. 

• Like 1

PRINT #-2 expects a printer at the other end of the line, which it expects to drive a BUSY line (low for busy, high otherwise). To capture the input over a "normal" serial port, you'll need to pull line 2 on the 4-port serial port high, as indicated below...

cocoprtr.gif