IGNORED

doubledown's Gauntlet Edition - VVG Experience Controller - Interest Check

doubledown

Hello friends, I've got a new project that I'm going to be working on and I wanted to get the word out.

I am a big fan of the arcade game Gauntlet:

EEUBnw.jpg

...and who wouldn't be, its big, its beautiful, and its fun for up to 4 players!  Hands down, the single best port of this arcade classic is Tengen's Gauntlet IV for the SEGA Genesis/MegaDrive:

zmfu5y.jpg

With a title like Gauntlet IV, one would assume that this is a sequel of some sort, which could never be as good as the original, but that's where you're wrong.  Gauntlet IV has 4 modes of play, 1 being a pixel-perfect port of the arcade classic (including 4-player support), then a few other variants with some cool RPG and battle elements.  As I recently picked up a MIB complete copy of this game (replacing my previous cartridge only version), I started playing it again, and realized that a Genesis control pad just doesn't do it justice.  So with my new found skills at creating arcade-like controllers I had the idea of creating a proper joystick controller to further my enjoyment of this game.  

After a bit of research regarding the original controls hardware used in the arcade cabinets, I realized that the linchpin to this endeavor would be to source an original Atari logo'ed ball-knob, 8-way leafswitch joystick, like this one (most of these pics "borrowed" from the internet):

1wNEtr.jpg

nqBTou.jpg