IGNORED

any Plus4 C264 programmers on this forum?

hloberg

lately I started playing around with the Plus4. taken on it's own it's not a bad little computer. large amounts of memory, good graphics, feature laden BASIC and access to Commodores faster peripherals. if there never been a C64 it might done well. but, as with having a sibling who's the high school quarterback, student president and valedictorian it just couldn't compare to it's older brother C64. Anyway, I'm going to do some programming and wonder if anyone else is out there doing the same?    

• 2 weeks later...

Sort of.  I have a real one and I researched the capabiltiies to the point of sufficiently being able to fairly quickly port 2 games to the Atari (Quadrillion and Spectipede).

The hardware is sort of similar to the Atari 8-bit, identical CPU speed but slightly slower (net) due to the extra badlines for attribute fetches.

Advantage of 256 characters (and switchable to 128 like Atari without need for 2K Rom just to generate the inverse chars) and the already mentioned attributes.

Disadvantage of inferior sound (though translating Plus4 sound to Atari 16-bit paired channels very easy thanks to identical clock speed), and no sprites which goes a long way to explaining the realtive poor game quality vs Atari and C64.

But, sprite stuff aside, most of the video hardware exploits that work on C64 also work there, e.g. to do stuff like extra picture colour through forced attribute refresh, DMA delay techniques to allow better coarse scrolling granularity, HScroll change per scanline to give the impression of better resolution (similar to our TIP modes).

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...
On 1/5/2020 at 12:26 AM, Rybags said:

Sort of.  I have a real one and I researched the capabiltiies to the point of sufficiently being able to fairly quickly port 2 games to the Atari (Quadrillion and Spectipede).