IGNORED

ESD Hard & Floppy Controller

MikeV

11 hours ago, MikeV said:

I came by this accidentally while scanning some old newsletters. I could find little reference to the company named except: Asgard News

Does anyone know if it was actually manufactured, if so, did it live up to its claims? Thanks

Page_5.thumb.gif.539b1e52b02a18e90e27f4d2e8364c26.gif

Yea I remember this, it was this ad that made me, eventually, want to see if I could make an adapter to use 8-bit and 16 bit PC hard and floppy controllers with the ti and geneve. Still to this day think it is very possible, but I'm not an engineer only a mech and tech.

• Like 1

Thought that it might not have ever come off the planning stage, or, it would have been quite popular. However, the write up in Asgard News seemed very specific especially in how they planned to address several short-falls of the Myarc controller. Thierry's IDE design seems to meet these requirements? I do not know of anyone who actually built one of them. Thanks for the notices.

On 3/11/2020 at 9:45 AM, Ksarul said:

Thierry's IDE design works well--especially once you add the excellent DSR for it that Fred Kaal wrote.

Have you had an opportunity to build one of these? I saw another notice on the ESD company. They appear to have been at one of the Chicago shows (probably the same one sparkdrummer mentioned), but had nothing to demo. Will have to wait for the new HRD production!  Thanks everyone.

2 hours ago, MikeV said:

Have you had an opportunity to build one of these? I saw another notice on the ESD company. They appear to have been at one of the Chicago shows (probably the same one sparkdrummer mentioned), but had nothing to demo. Will have to wait for the new HRD production!  Thanks everyone.

I have one of them using Thierry's design/layout.