IGNORED

Newbie Question #1

Hi all,

I'm a real newbie to programming the 2600 and I am reading through Andrew Davie's awesome book, the Stella Programmer's Guide and a nice online video tutorial by Gustavo Pezzi (awesome video series!).

My question:

Why is Vertical Blanking required?

Why is Overscan required?

I understand Horizontal Blanking as the timeframe that it takes the TVs scan gun to get back to the beginning of the next scanline.  Hoping that is pretty accurate.

I think these explanations are alluded to in all of my books (somewhere!), but I just couldn't find an overt explanation.

Thank you greatly!  :)

JR

Edited by JohnnyRockets

Vertical blank is required to hide the electron beam as it's sent from the bottom of the frame to the top, which happens when vsync is signalled, and for some time after.

What we call overscan (which isn't quite 1:1 to what TV engineers would call overscan) is an area where the signal might be carrying visible information, but it isn't guaranteed to actually be displayed, due to differences in CRT TV design. (bezel, tube shape, distortion near the tube edge). There's a similar concept in printing which you may or may not be familiar with - bleed area - it's a margin where your design may or may not be cut off at the print shop, and you don't worry about it that much, because you design the image with that in mind.

Since information near the edges of a video game are likely to be important, Atari decided that their company standard would be to display only 192 lines of visible display, after which the game shouldn't display anything. (our overscan area)