IGNORED

Apple IIe

Used it in gradeschool.  Typical MECC entertainment  suite was licensed by the school, as was the text based word processor. 

There was a game (that I forget the name of) that was a graphics + text based adventure game in the same vein as the original AGI kings quest series that was on some of the computers in the gifted kids computer lab.  In addition to that though, my experience with this system is limited.  I never owned one.

• Like 1

Actually, my first Apple experience was an Apple ][, then a ][plus in my GATE class in fourth grade.  We had the TI-99/4A at home, and the school had a 99/4 in one of the supplemental classrooms but no other computers for the students.  That year I got a subscription to COMPUTE! Magazine for my birthday and I started entering the programs on the TI at home and on the Apple every week in GATE.

In fifth grade we had access to the new computer lab, outfitted with shiny new IIe and IIe Enhanced computers.  We used the standard MECC suites like most kids of the era, and I was able to play with Print Shop when I would work in the office.

Funny story.  By this time (fifth grade,) I had been programming for almost a year.  Over the summer one of my dad's troops challenged me to write a game on the TI: I had complained about crappy games and he says to me, "if you think you can make a better game, then why not write your own?"  So I started writing games in TI BASIC.  Having been entering programs from COMPUTE! on both the TI and Apple, I had a good grasp on how to break them down, as well.  I applied this skill at school to The Oregon Trail, learning when to stop the program, what variables to change, and how to continue the program without having things screwed up.