IGNORED

Stiff Joystick?

Ronnie Volkert

I am fairly new to Atari. I grew up with the Sega Genesis and really, the Original Xbox, so Atari is not my nostalgia console. 

I am finding that the Joysticks are fairly stiff. I've read that over time, the rubber on the controllers stiffens up a bit, but as I don't have anything to compare them to, I'm not sure if that's what this is. 

I have about 8 controllers and they are all fairly stiff. 

Is this normal for Atari Controllers? 

• 3 weeks later...
On 7/13/2020 at 9:27 PM, Ronnie Volkert said:

I am finding that the Joysticks are fairly stiff.

Is this normal for Atari Controllers? 

Yes!  In my opinion, this is caused by there being no haptic/tactile feedback when you move the controller so you're naturally inclined to press a bit hard.  Also, the contacts in the controller that register input when moving the joystick often crack and/or shift, further compounding the issue -- you end up pressing harder because you're not seeing any response.

I published a tear-down video where I demo how the problem manifests itself and noted some solutions: installing/soldering push buttons with tactile feedback and replacing the board with a modern one that has surface-mount tactile switches pre-installed.  I think using one of these products is probably the easiest way to improve the controller -- though I've never tested one personally (I modified mine by installing push-buttons on the internal board).