IGNORED

Any interest in a GIMP club?

Karl G

We have users and potential GIMP users here, since it's one way to create indexed PNG images for use with 7800basic. Unfortunately, although the GIMP is powerful, it has a bit of a learning curve. I was wondering if there would be any interest in a club to ask/answer questions, and share tips? This wouldn't be limited to just 7800basic users, of course.

I don't know if I'd be the best one to lead it, since I'm a GIMP novice myself, but I can do so if there's interest, and no one else wants to be the one to create/run the club.

• Like 3

13 minutes ago, gambler172 said:

seems,that i am too stupid to use Gimp ?

I felt that way myself - I struggled making indexed PNGs for use with 7800basic. Apart from that, I think it's just a matter of getting used to the interface and how to do things with a non-trivial application. It's as powerful as Photoshop in the right hands, but it has its own workflow.

Anyway, would you be interested in such a group to share tips as well, or do you intend to continue to steer clear of it? ? 

On 9/1/2020 at 1:35 PM, gambler172 said:

seems,that i am too stupid to use Gimp ?

hoorible to use...i wish there was an easier sprite maker

I don get what issues are you having or how it could be easier indeed, just create an empty 16x16 or whatever image, draw your sprite using 3 color plus background and change the image mode to indexed 4 colors max.

Then export it as png

That's all.

Edited by vhzc
typo

1 hour ago, vhzc said:

I don get what issues are you having or how it could be easier indeed, juts create an empty 16x16 or whatever image, draw your sprite using 3 color plus background and change the image mode to indexed 4 colors max.

Then export it as png

That's all.

Now there's a useful tip already.  ;-)