IGNORED

Issue: Colecovision loads BIOS screen but won't play games

Living Dead

So my wife just acquired her childhood ColecoVision, and it's in really nice shape with the steering wheel, the super action controllers, tons of carts with overlays, you name it. When I turn it on, the screen displaying COLECOVISION loads just fine and is crystal clear with a modern A/V cable. However, any game I put into the cartridge slot just loads a black screen.

I know the games are good... I have another working Colecovision and I tested them in that machine. So my question for folks more skilled than myself is where do you start in diagnosing and fixing an issue like this? Can the cartridge slot go bad while everything else remains functional?

Most the tutorials I've seen for black screens just show that the system doesn't power on at all, but that is not the case here. I am a total amateur when it comes to these things... all I've ever done is replace capacitors in a Sega Master System. Any advice would be appreciated. If this issue is discussed elsewhere, I apologize for overlooking it.

Clean the inside of your cartridge slot with isopropyl alcohol and cotton swabs, make sure it is dry before turning on your Colecovision.

Use a magnifying glass to give a look to the cartridge internal pins for too open connections, you can adjust them carefully using a needle.

If the internal pins are broken then you need to replace the complete cartridge connector.

Edited by nanochess

Try one of the smaller games as i've heard say an 8 kb game may run whereas a 24kb game might not.

This has happened to a few people. One of  The traces from the cart port becomes broken or dirty so it can only read the lower part of the max rom size.

Qbert is 8kb. Try that if you have it.

burgertime or smurf is 16kb of a max 32kb standard cart.

Edited by digress