IGNORED

Attempt, Repair or Scrap? 64K Memory Expander

Sixthview

First post on here...  Coleco nut in my youth but nostalgia kicked in and I have been messing with my ADAM for about a year now.

So in a box at my mother's house, I found my old memory expander.  But it has seen better days.  

I am wondering what others think... 

1. Should I try it out before I do anything? (worried about messing the ADAM up permanently) 
  2. Should I put new caps on first?  (I am an amateur at soldering, but I think I can get through it if I know what caps I need)
  3. Just throw it out?

20201004_184557.jpg

7 minutes ago, Sixthview said:

First post on here...  Coleco nut in my youth but nostalgia kicked in and I have been messing with my ADAM for about a year now.

So in a box at my mother's house, I found my old memory expander.  But it has seen better days.  

I am wondering what others think... 

1. Should I try it out before I do anything? (worried about messing the ADAM up permanently) 
  2. Should I put new caps on first?  (I am an amateur at soldering, but I think I can get through it if I know what caps I need)
  3. Just throw it out?

20201004_184557.jpg

Definately don't plug it in without replacing the caps.  I don't know the value off hand but it should be marked ?????

24 minutes ago, Sixthview said:

Assuming they are all the same, I think they are 104s.  Specifically marked 104Z (T) - The t is in a circle below the 104Z.

I know I have 104s.  Can I replace with modern caps whether Ceramic or Metal Film or should I search out some old stock?

Sounds fair to me, BUT it depends on the difference on the Z or s designation.  If not interchangeable, you could smoke something.  I am not qualified to know the difference and I have been looking and not seeing what the difference is.

So I found this about the "Z"