IGNORED

PHP 1250 NOT READING OR WRITING

Timkorbs

So I had a TI994a and tape drive as a kid, but recently, for nostalgia's sake, decided to buy a TI994a with a PEB and try to use disks. When I started to use the system a week ago, it would read disks, but it was having trouble writing and I only got it to save a file once. Now, it will not read or write at all. The disk system is moving and making some sounds (but not the reading sound I heard before), I have tried cleaning all the contacts in the cards and I opened the drive and cleaned the head, but it looks totally pristine in the PHP1250 drive and the drive head was super clean. Any ideas of what I could try?? I also unplugged and re-plugged in all the connectors in the drive to no avail. The firehose cable looks really good also and I dont see any obvious reason why a wire would be bad in there, but who knows. Any thoughts? I am a newbie for sure. Error 56 and 66 are what I see a lot. Thanks for thoughts!

5.25 disks are probably old, just like the 99/4A. Some HD floppies won't work as well as the DSDD types. Not sure what you're using, but another thing to look at while trying to chase it down. Were these disks already initialized with files on them? How many have you tried?

Always possible something got scrambled on the disk when a write went south. Can you reformat one to try it fresh? You need a disk manager cart or program on disk.

I had a problem with the LED that detects if the disk's write-protect notch is covered. Wasn't dirt, the LED itself went bad.

Another guess that also gave me trouble if I forgot about it, if the drives are uncovered and the room lights are bright, that can mess with the sensors too. Toss a cardboard cover over it or try with the lights down. If the drives are in enclosures, that's probably not it. Since you're testing, I figured it's possible you have it laying out exposed to room lights.

Could try very lightly lubing the rails the head moves on.