IGNORED

Ti99/4a + 32kb rom + FinalGrom99 = Lot of Blue screens (hardware failure?)?

wietze

Hi there guys,

Im a new user of the TI99/4a hardware, and just this week I finally received my FinalGrom99 and 32kb memory expansion part.

I have downloaded a few cartridges together with some homebrew games and gave them a spin.

Unfortunately, many of my attempts of loading a game failed. More often than not, I end up having a blue screen, and sometimes some sound or music is playing.

For example, Sabre Wulf and Ms Pacman do not run. For example Moon Patrol only loads some of the graphics (like the top part of the car, and the pits load).

Some other games do work. The behaviour of which games work and which do not is completely consistent. But so far, it feels like a lot of stuff is not working.

Since Im a complete noob with regards to the system, can anyone point me out to any common pitfalls, or ways to determine what Im doing wrong? Is this behaviour related to a hardware faillure?

I hope that you guys can shed some knowledge :)

Regards,

Wietze

Edited by wietze

Hi there guys,

Im a new user of the TI99/4a hardware, and just this week I finally received my FinalGrom99 and 32kb memory expansion part.
I have downloaded a few cartridges together with some homebrew games and gave them a spin.

Unfortunately, many of my attempts of loading a game failed. More often than not, I end up having a blue screen, and sometimes some sound or music is playing.
For example, Sabre Wulf and Ms Pacman do not run. For example Moon Patrol only loads some of the graphics (like the top part of the car, and the pits load).
Some other games do work. The behaviour of which games work and which do not is completely consistent. But so far, it feels like a lot of stuff is not working.

Since Im a complete noob with regards to the system, can anyone point me out to any common pitfalls, or ways to determine what Im doing wrong? Is this behaviour related to a hardware faillure?