Jump to content
Andrew Davie

PlusCart(+) + SD

Recommended Posts

5 hours ago, Al_Nafuur said:

just changed it to:

 

Now I got it!

 

You have to solder ESP8266-01 and reduce (cut) the height of its pins.

 

Short means cut part of the pins. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Fierodoug5 said:

I have had at least 5 of the little 8266 modules bad from new. Those things are a pain in my a&$. 

Did you try to program them before soldering? 

 

Are you using NodeMCU-PyFlasher to program it?

 

By the way, what firmware did you put in it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/9/2021 at 10:35 AM, Al_Nafuur said:

Al_Nafuur, just to know....

 

You have to use the elf file to program the STM32F407VGT6 with STM32CubeProgrammer, right?

 

The bin file, in this case is used to update the firmware?

 

I can use this same pcb without the ESP8266 to program UnoCart firmware? 

 

https://github.com/DirtyHairy/UnoCart-2600/releases

 

I'm waiting for my JLCPCB pcb, but I was doing some tests with STM32F407VGT6 programming....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, cfarl said:

Al_Nafuur, just to know....

 

You have to use the elf file to program the STM32F407VGT6 with STM32CubeProgrammer, right?

 

As far as I am aware, you can use either, but it's easier with the elf. With the bin you need to set some of the programmer addresses correctly. Vague here - I just use the elf these days. I have previously used either/both. Al will confirm/correct.

 

2 hours ago, cfarl said:

I can use this same pcb without the ESP8266 to program UnoCart firmware? 

Yes, if you're using the dual Uno/Plus board. It's compatible with both. Or all three, if you think of it as UnoCart, PlusCart, PlusCart SD.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@cfarl I recommend the firmware version 2.1.1 from this post:

 

 

 

13 hours ago, Andrew Davie said:
15 hours ago, cfarl said:

Al_Nafuur, just to know....

 

You have to use the elf file to program the STM32F407VGT6 with STM32CubeProgrammer, right?

 

As far as I am aware, you can use either, but it's easier with the elf. With the bin you need to set some of the programmer addresses correctly. Vague here - I just use the elf these days. I have previously used either/both. Al will confirm/correct.

👍 correct.

 

Quote

Yes, if you're using the dual Uno/Plus board. It's compatible with both. Or all three, if you think of it as UnoCart, PlusCart, PlusCart SD.

 

Or all six if you think of it as:

  1. UnoCart
  2. PlusCart
  3. UnoCart Zero ( no SD )
  4. PlusCart Zero ( no WiFi )
  5. UnoCart Duo ( +WiFi )
  6. PlusCart Duo ( +SD )

and even eight if you count the nameless "forbidden" ones:

  • UnoCart with WiFi and without SD
  • PlusCart with SD and without WiFi

 

I separate the PlusCart and the UnoCart by the GPIO ports used for the data bus.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, Al_Nafuur said:

@cfarl I recommend the firmware version 2.1.1 from this post:

 

 

 

👍 correct.

 

Or all six if you think of it as:

  1. UnoCart
  2. PlusCart
  3. UnoCart Zero ( no SD )
  4. PlusCart Zero ( no WiFi )
  5. UnoCart Duo ( +WiFi )
  6. PlusCart Duo ( +SD )

and even eight if you count the nameless "forbidden" ones:

  • UnoCart with WiFi and without SD
  • PlusCart with SD and without WiFi

 

I separate the PlusCart and the UnoCart by the GPIO ports used for the address bus.

 

Thanks!

 

Nice work you've done here!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/7/2021 at 3:45 PM, Andrew Davie said:

 

An aside; my printer give vertical lines/ripples on the sides of things as they're printed. I just found out this is actually the stepper motors causing it, not (as I thought) the belt vibration.  It can be almost eliminated by printing walls very slowly. So, if you have the same issue then try setting your outline/shell speed to something low (say, 10mm/s). It makes a huge, huge difference for me.

 

 

Yeah, nah. The vertical lines were actually because I didn't have the extruder holding tightly enough onto the filament, and the toothed feed wheel occasionally ground off some filament instead of pushing it through. It was a bit of slippage. I happened to clean the whole mechanism and when I put it back together I noticed the residue on the teeth and figured "tighter will stop that", and what do you know - my vertical lines on walls went away.  It was hard to find because the lines were aligned, and I didn't grok that the extruder could cause that. Well anyway, now walls are very smooth for me so that must have been a major contributor.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/27/2021 at 5:00 AM, cfarl said:

Did you try to program them before soldering? 

 

Are you using NodeMCU-PyFlasher to program it?

 

By the way, what firmware did you put in it?

I recommend the AT-Command firmware version v1.7.4.0

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A bit of advice, test and flash your ESP8266 before you solder. Had 3 of same brand (bottom pictured below) from Amazon and none of them worked....seemed to flash but never detected by ESPlorer or PlusCart SD. Got another brand and 2 of those 3 flashed and worked under ESPlorer. May wire jumpers in to try the working ones, as the nonworking ones are going to be challenging to remove.  

ESP8266.jpg

Edited by WicoKid

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have a SMD heatgun, heat pins on the top of the ESP module and you can remove the ESP module easy. Then desolder the pins from the new ESP and solder them to the pins left on the pluscart from the old ESP. I have had to this a few times and works well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, WicoKid said:

Replaced the ESP8223 with heat gun as above....wireless working fine now, so bad patch of 8223's.

🤔  ESP8266 ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, WicoKid said:

Replaced the ESP8223 with heat gun as above....wireless working fine now, so bad patch of 8223's.

Awesome, glad that worked! There seems to be a lot of bad 8266 modules floating around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, Capellão said:

1805018703_WhatsAppImage2021-09-13at09_24_48.thumb.jpeg.7c7fd457882394f6beee6321158b9aef.jpeg

 

Does the position shown in the figure need to be slotted?

Yes, it is a cutout. It's designed to allow you to place a shunt on those pins, which is removed for manual programming.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got my cart in last week but didn't actually try it out and get it registered etc... until last night really. One question as everything else has been really straighforward.

 

Explain how the offline ROMs work again? I looked this up in the manual but it isn't that clear to me. If I understand it right, I should just be able to place roms into the offline folder from the cloud webclient and they will be available to download through the settings on the PlusCart menu? Mine just says that the file it too small or something in that section. Does it just mean I need to stick more roms in there? I was basically just wanting a few of the diagnostic type tools and a few test games I use when working on systems placed in the offline portion so it could be used anywhere pretty much I need it with or without online ability at the time.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"File too small" seems to indicate that you did upload something different, but not a ROM. Maybe a link?

Edited by Thomas Jentzsch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, -^CrossBow^- said:

Got my cart in last week but didn't actually try it out and get it registered etc... until last night really. One question as everything else has been really straighforward.

 

Explain how the offline ROMs work again? I looked this up in the manual but it isn't that clear to me. If I understand it right, I should just be able to place roms into the offline folder from the cloud webclient and they will be available to download through the settings on the PlusCart menu? Mine just says that the file it too small or something in that section. Does it just mean I need to stick more roms in there? I was basically just wanting a few of the diagnostic type tools and a few test games I use when working on systems placed in the offline portion so it could be used anywhere pretty much I need it with or without online ability at the time.

 

 

The firmware versions before v2.1.1 had a bug. When downloading the offline ROMs into the flash memory, 32 KiB were always requested at the first request, even if there were no 32 KiB in total. This caused the download to fail.

This bug has been fixed in v2.1.1, but obviously I forgot to remove the workaround/warning message for the new version in the PlusStore API. I just have fixed this and you should be able to download your offline ROM files now.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
39 minutes ago, Thomas Jentzsch said:

"File too small" seems to indicate that you did upload something different, but not a ROM.

actually you can put (nearly) everything into the offline folder of your PlusStore account and it will be downloaded to your PlusCarts flash as long as it can be put into a tar file.

 

39 minutes ago, Thomas Jentzsch said:

Maybe a link?

e.g. tar files will be ignored. I haven't tested other files like links

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Andrew Davie said:

Yes, it is a cutout. It's designed to allow you to place a shunt on those pins, which is removed for manual programming.

 

Good Night!!

Same error on allpcb.com with me.

And they gave two options to answer what to do.

These are:

 

1:Need to make the slot pointed by the arrow. Accept the plug hole is gong off.
2:No need to make the slot. ignore the part pointed by the arrow. please choose one.

 

Which one should i mark???

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Robsonz said:

Good Night!!

Same error on allpcb.com with me.

And they gave two options to answer what to do.

These are:

 

1:Need to make the slot pointed by the arrow. Accept the plug hole is gong off.
2:No need to make the slot. ignore the part pointed by the arrow. please choose one.

 

Which one should i mark???

 

I don't understand the wording totally, but #1 sounds like it.

You do want to have the hole there.  You do need to make that "slot" pointed to by the arrow.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...