IGNORED

SAMS for Tomy Tutor. What would it take?

6 hours ago, wierd_w said:

Looking at the pinout of the expansion port...

Not much?

It has the address and data lines, MEMEN and CRUOUT/CRUCLK.

So..  Build one, and write some software to use it?

I can write the software, but not build it. I'm an absolute hardware noob.

One would need to determine the available memory spaces in the Tomy memory map and build out decoder circuitry to set the SAMS default memory spaces there. From there, there isn't all that much work to do, as you only need to be able to write to the registers on the 612 to set the SAMS memory spaces visible in the window to the portions of the default window you want them to be in.

Probably the first necessary experiment would be to build a basic memory expansion that uses the open spaces in the memory map--and I am pretty sure there has to be a switch in there somewhere that disables some or all of that memory space when a cartridge is inserted, as I think those spaces overlap. . .which may also reduce the utility of SAMS somewhat unless you copy the cart into the SAMS default space and then disable the cart port to use the copy in SAMS.

• Like 2

• 3 months later...
On 4/11/2021 at 6:31 PM, Ksarul said:

One would need to determine the available memory spaces in the Tomy memory map and build out decoder circuitry to set the SAMS default memory spaces there. From there, there isn't all that much work to do, as you only need to be able to write to the registers on the 612 to set the SAMS memory spaces visible in the window to the portions of the default window you want them to be in.