IGNORED

TI99 essential maintenance?

Tetlee

Hi all,

Let me start by saying I'm not a coder(at all) and gaming aside have zero know how regarding computer internals, there that's that out the way.

I fairly recently rebought a TI99/4A from France(mainly to get it with the Scart cable which I didn't know at the time about somebody from here making them) and it's my first foray back into the world of 99 since owning one as a kid back in the eighties.

The machine works fine but I am finding game carts crash quite often, and FinalGrom especially is very buggy(I can get it to work perfectly but there are plenty game freezes etc.). This together with reading people suggesting testing of power supplies etc. got me thinking. I'm planning on sending my old Amiga A600 in to retropassion for a recap(owned it since the 90's so thought it could be an idea as I would hate to damage it after owning it all these years) and it seems they can also recap the TI99. I'm guessing this would be advisable regardless issues? They said they can also recap the PSU so I'm guessing I should get this done too. Is there any other essential maintenance for the longevity of these computers I should ask about while it's going in, or should that be sufficient? I don't want to pile unnecessary money into it(I've spent alot already as TI99 stuff is way more expensive here in the UK than it is in the US) so just the basics to give me confidence going forward(at the moment I kind of feel I could end up frying the machine at some point if I keep playing it without bothering)

I don't see me ever modding the system(as cool as some of these things sound and nice as the new games that require doing so look), just want to give it a service so it should be able to continue on working for years to come.

Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for any answers.

Check on the VDP's thermal paste. The old paste is likely dried out and the VDP is more likely to fail if it starts overheating.