IGNORED

Planetary Defense 5200?

Klankster

I'm working on porting my 400/800 game "Planetary Defense 2012" -- a version of the ANALOG Computing game with enhanced bonus features) to run on the 5200 for an Android emulator. I've never done a port to the 5200 before, and am unclear on what operating system vectors apply (if any) and how other registers etc. are mapped.  Is there a good guide available for the 5200 (sort of like the old De Re Atari)?

Any help would be appreciated.

• Like 4

7 hours ago, playsoft said:

That would be great to have on the 5200!

There is @ClausB's guide from ANALOG Computing, Transporting Atari Computer Programs to the 5200

Also @phaeron's Altirra Hardware Reference Manual

Good luck with the port.

Edit: as it might be a good controller option for the game, there's a trakball guide here.

Thanks @playsoft! So after looking through that and studying it does that mean even I, can port over A8 games to Big Sexy or is my education/skill level not good enough to do so, as I hate to ask others to have to do it for me, I have always wanted to be more self-sufficient. (I have developmental and psychiatric issues) There are plenty of A8 ports that'll work on the 5200, like Bug Attack, to name one, and quite a few others as well.

I DO own a 65XE, and an XEGS (picked up in November and December respectively last year) as well as the 5200 (since 1983) as well. I also own a Dell Inspiron with Windows 7 Pro that I can (if necessary) transfer .xex, .car, .atr, and .rom files and convert them to .bin, .hyb, or .rom very easily.

17 hours ago, BIGHMW said: