Jump to content

Photo

Impossible Mission - guess who ?


230 replies to this topic

#26 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:03 PM

Look, dude. You can always claim this was by design. SNIP


:rolling:

#27 Shawn Sr. OFFLINE  

Shawn Sr.

    Atardid

  • 13,051 posts

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:06 PM

It's SRAM inside IM.


Any idea what the chip numbers are and what the support chips are?


6264-12 SRAM (8k chip) and then 74LS10, 74LS00 and 74LS02 as the supporting IC population on a 339 series board and on a 565 series board is all the same but the 74LS10 is dropped in favor of a 74LS374 for the bankswitching.

Edited by Shawn Sr., Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:10 PM.


#28 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:17 PM

It's SRAM inside IM.


Any idea what the chip numbers are and what the support chips are?


6264-12 SRAM (8k chip) and then 74LS10, 74LS00 and 74LS02 as the supporting IC population on a 339 series board and on a 565 series board is all the same but the 74LS10 is dropped in favor of a 74LS374 for the bankswitching.


OK, it's an 8KB (K BYTE) chip.

I'm beginning to wonder if my last revision was to save RAM and that is what introduced the bug...

#29 Shawn Sr. OFFLINE  

Shawn Sr.

    Atardid

  • 13,051 posts

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:21 PM

It's SRAM inside IM.


Any idea what the chip numbers are and what the support chips are?


6264-12 SRAM (8k chip) and then 74LS10, 74LS00 and 74LS02 as the supporting IC population on a 339 series board and on a 565 series board is all the same but the 74LS10 is dropped in favor of a 74LS374 for the bankswitching.


OK, it's an 8KB (K BYTE) chip.

I'm beginning to wonder if my last revision was to save RAM and that is what introduced the bug...


If you got a version that uses larger ram that would be a warm welcome as I got some 32k bad boys sitting on my desk right now that are looking for something to do :evil:

#30 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:39 PM

< 1f80: d0 f8 9d 40 67 ca 68 9d 40 67 ad 84 2 ea ea ea ...@g.h.@g......
< 1f90: ea 29 3 c9 3 f0 f3 ea ea 9d 70 67 ee 12 6e a9 .)........pg..n.
---
> 1f80: d0 f8 9d 40 67 ca 68 9d 40 67 ad 0 20 4a 4a 4a ...@g.h.@g.. JJJ
> 1f90: 4a 29 3 c9 3 90 2 a9 0 9d 70 67 ee 12 6e a9 J)........pg..n.

Something to do with searching and finding a puzzle piece... EA's are NOP's that someone put in there, whereas the 4a's are LSR A's...

Will keep digging and see what comes up.

#31 Crazy Climber OFFLINE  

Crazy Climber

    Crazy Climberer

  • 11,054 posts
  • Metamuciler
  • Location:NICHIBUTSU DELUXE

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 12:51 PM

Hello Arthur, Cool stories. Welcome and thanks for sharing all this cool history :)

#32 Allan ONLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,333 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sat Dec 6, 2008 2:54 PM

Thanks for coming on Atariage. Any other stories you could share with us would be great.

Somebody needs to give Mr. Krewat an Alumni avatar.

Allan

#33 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,148 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 1:59 PM

While I'm thinking about it, how were Computer Magic and Man Development related? Just curious.

Mitch

#34 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 2:58 PM

While I'm thinking about it, how were Computer Magic and Man Development related? Just curious.

Mitch


Who's Man Development?

;)

#35 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,148 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 4:58 PM

While I'm thinking about it, how were Computer Magic and Man Development related? Just curious.

Mitch


Who's Man Development?

;)


Well, the title screen on Impossible Mission says it was developed by Man Development Corp. I was curious since you mentioned that the company you were working for was called Computer Magic.

Mitch

#36 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 6:04 PM

Well, the title screen on Impossible Mission says it was developed by Man Development Corp. I was curious since you mentioned that the company you were working for was called Computer Magic.

Mitch


No clue. It would, I'm sure, be the consulting-firm/contractor that developed the game initially. What platform did it come out on first, Commodore 64?

#37 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,148 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 6:47 PM

Well, the title screen on Impossible Mission says it was developed by Man Development Corp. I was curious since you mentioned that the company you were working for was called Computer Magic.

Mitch


No clue. It would, I'm sure, be the consulting-firm/contractor that developed the game initially. What platform did it come out on first, Commodore 64?


That's strange, none of the other versions of Impossible Mission that I could find credit Man Development, they credit other sources. The 7800 version of One on One also credits Man Development. From looking around the web these seem to be the only two games credited to Man Development. Any chance you can look at the source code and see if there's any mention of it?

Mitch

#38 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 9:20 PM

I'm starting to remember (maybe) that Jim Mahoney said "Put this in there" about Man Development Corp. It might have been "Mahoney and Nxxxx" as in him and this other guy who was his partner. I totally forget his name at this point. It might come to me sometime laying awake at 3AM.

For some info on Computer Magic, I found a few old floppies we had laying around that we used for backups and such. One video game they actually did make some money off of, was Kayos.

http://www.atarimani...amp;NUM_IMAGE=0

http://www.atarimani...ON_ID-2757.html

Never knew they did an Atari version.

The floppies I have are dated 1981. Of course, I don't have ANY binaries or sources of it.

I thought it was a C64 game, apparently it was Atari 400/800.

#39 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 9:35 PM

Here's a screen shot I just got from an Atari 800 emulator bundled with Kayos and a whole bunch of other stuff.

Sorry to get so off-topic into Computer Magic land ;)

Attached Thumbnails

  • kayos.jpg


#40 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,148 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2008 10:18 PM

I'm starting to remember (maybe) that Jim Mahoney said "Put this in there" about Man Development Corp. It might have been "Mahoney and Nxxxx" as in him and this other guy who was his partner. I totally forget his name at this point. It might come to me sometime laying awake at 3AM.


Ah, cool stuff. Thanks for humoring me about this bit of trivia. :)

Mitch

#41 Shannon OFFLINE  

Shannon

    Born To Be Insane

  • 7,522 posts
  • Pac-man Fever
  • Location:Arcade

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:34 AM

And not to backpedal at all, but...

There were instances where because I was running the code in a static RAM development cartridge, after burning real EPROMs a bug would come up that wasn't there initially. If I remember correctly, Atari tested the game with development cartridges. The only time I had a bug like that come up was in Summer Games or Winter Games though, it never affected IM. If I remember correctly.

Interesting. Always nice to meet an original developer for Atari systems and especially cool to see unrelased titles and source code.

Just curious was one of those issues with Winter Games missing sounds? I think some people discovered some versions of Wnter Games had issues with some sounds missing.

#42 Allpaul OFFLINE  

Allpaul

    Chopper Commander

  • 164 posts
  • Location:Nashville,TN

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:59 AM

And not to backpedal at all, but...

There were instances where because I was running the code in a static RAM development cartridge, after burning real EPROMs a bug would come up that wasn't there initially. If I remember correctly, Atari tested the game with development cartridges. The only time I had a bug like that come up was in Summer Games or Winter Games though, it never affected IM. If I remember correctly.

Interesting. Always nice to meet an original developer for Atari systems and especially cool to see unrelased titles and source code.

Just curious was one of those issues with Winter Games missing sounds? I think some people discovered some versions of Wnter Games had issues with some sounds missing.

I have one of those. The bobsled race is silent for sure.

#43 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:49 AM

I don't think it was missing sounds, but ... after 20+ years, I could be wrong :D

Whenever I get the sources for WG off the floppies, I'll be sure to check for sound during the bobsled.

I think I might start another thread at that time asking for the community to report anomalies in WG/SG (we already know what's wrong with IM) and we'll go from there. Easier to keep track of bugs/issues without all the gabbing going on in this thread ;)

#44 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,148 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:39 PM

I don't think it was missing sounds, but ... after 20+ years, I could be wrong :D

Whenever I get the sources for WG off the floppies, I'll be sure to check for sound during the bobsled.

I think I might start another thread at that time asking for the community to report anomalies in WG/SG (we already know what's wrong with IM) and we'll go from there. Easier to keep track of bugs/issues without all the gabbing going on in this thread ;)


It's the same thing I mentioned in this post. I suspect Atari accidentally sent an earlier revision to the manufacturer instead of the final version. I don't really have any evidence, that's just my guess. :)

Mitch

#45 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:21 PM

It's the same thing I mentioned in this post. I suspect Atari accidentally sent an earlier revision to the manufacturer instead of the final version. I don't really have any evidence, that's just my guess. :)


Interesting. I'll try to get WG restored soon. Having a bit of trouble getting SG back. The floppy drive I was using that was the best of all three that I had, suddenly started spinning the motor randomly for no reason and giving "drive not ready" ... Crap. Worse, I ran out of Q-tips to clean the heads. Darn floppies are so dirty they leave a trail of crud on the drives after only one or two passes. Funny, the more I try to read them, the better they get - the dirt is getting wiped off of the floppy by the heads. Starting to wonder if I should just remove the floppy from the envelope and clean it with alcohol. I'll try that with something else first though as a test...

I might have to break down and actually BUY a floppy drive off of eBay ;)

#46 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:24 PM

Just remember something about "Man development" - I had nicely put MY NAME on the "Converted to the 7800 by..." for IM, and was told "change that to MAN DEVELOPMENT". Didn't know why, didn't LIKE it, but did it anyway.

Oh well.

#47 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:26 PM

Also, from my README.DOC in the IM source directory, dated Apr 24, 1988:


Impossible Mission. Conversion started by Brian Richter. Finished
by Arthur Krewat around 4/25/88.
Brian converted all of the room drawing, and elevator code.
I converted searching, security terminals, snoozes, lift inits,
all desktop areas, and score screens.
The following is a list of files and what they contain, to the best
of my knowledge. Some of the stuff Brian wrote, I never had to touch.

Game0 - Main elevator area. Also, contains NMI's for elevator
and rooms.
Game1 - Elevator and desktop DLL and DL's.
Game2 - Split up into game21 and game22.
Game21 - Contains rock movement and other elevator specific code.
Game22 - Guy stuff, used everywhere.
Game3 - More desktop stuff. Hand movement, etc.
Game4 - Random number generator and map code.
Room - Main room stuff.


(Darn, no fixed-length font)

#48 Sauron OFFLINE  

Sauron

    River Patroller

  • 4,698 posts
  • In the land of Mordor.
  • Location:North of the Black Sea

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:47 PM

(Darn, no fixed-length font)


Try using the "CODE" tag as such.

This is a fixed length font.
This is a fixed-length font.

Replace the "" with [].

#49 2600Lives OFFLINE  

2600Lives

    River Patroller

  • 4,345 posts
  • The Masked Wrestleman
  • Location:The East end of Hell

Posted Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:45 PM

Just remember something about "Man development" - I had nicely put MY NAME on the "Converted to the 7800 by..." for IM, and was told "change that to MAN DEVELOPMENT". Didn't know why, didn't LIKE it, but did it anyway.


That probably had something to do with Atari's bullshit policy of not crediting programmers in any way, lest other companies steal them away. I didn't think they were still doing that during the 7800 years, though.

#50 krewat OFFLINE  

krewat

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 165 posts

Posted Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:56 PM

Just remember something about "Man development" - I had nicely put MY NAME on the "Converted to the 7800 by..." for IM, and was told "change that to MAN DEVELOPMENT". Didn't know why, didn't LIKE it, but did it anyway.


That probably had something to do with Atari's bullshit policy of not crediting programmers in any way, lest other companies steal them away. I didn't think they were still doing that during the 7800 years, though.


Well, Computer Magic did have experience working with Atari back as far as 1981, re: Kayos for the 800. Old habits die hard ;)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users