Jump to content

Photo

If you could have any arcade machine in your house...


145 replies to this topic

#1 Ferret75 OFFLINE  

Ferret75

    Chopper Commander

  • 122 posts

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 6:31 PM

Then which would you have?

I think it would be cool to have Mortal Kombat machine personally.

#2 telengard OFFLINE  

telengard

    Moonsweeper

  • 489 posts
  • Location:Hudson, NH

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 6:42 PM

Then which would you have?

I think it would be cool to have Mortal Kombat machine personally.


My friend has an empty MK cabinet sitting in his garage. I think he plans on restoring it someday (going on 2 years now though).

I'm not sure I could just have 1. :)

http://home.comcast....sturk/mame.html

If I had to choose 1 though it would probably be Defender.

~telengard

#3 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,609 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 6:55 PM

I'm not sure I could just have 1. :)

http://home.comcast....sturk/mame.html

Grrr, I get jealous every time I see that modular control panel. :lust: :D

#4 atarian63 OFFLINE  

atarian63

    River Patroller

  • 4,247 posts
  • Location:columbus ohio

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:07 PM

Then which would you have?

I think it would be cool to have Mortal Kombat machine personally.

I am working on the Sit down Star wars that I bought, that was my dream machine :D

#5 Deteacher OFFLINE  

Deteacher

    River Patroller

  • 3,462 posts
  • Location:Newark, DE

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:08 PM

If I could only choose one, it would have to be Dragon's Lair. I love that game!

#6 Kripto OFFLINE  

Kripto

    Stargunner

  • 1,339 posts
  • -Visible Invaders-
  • Location:NYC

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:38 PM

Is it cheating to say Galaxian 3? :ponder:

#7 potatohead OFFLINE  

potatohead

    River Patroller

  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:50 PM

DEFENDER

#8 accousticguitar OFFLINE  

accousticguitar

    Quadrunner

  • 7,038 posts
  • Sherlock made it to 15 before he left us.
  • Location:Idaho

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:51 PM

Tempest

#9 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,609 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 7:55 PM

Is it cheating to say Galaxian 3? :ponder:

That would be fine if the question was "If you could have any house in your arcade machine..." :P

#10 BigO OFFLINE  

BigO

    River Patroller

  • 4,457 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 8:44 PM

I'd have "Bombs Away" (because that's the one I actually do have in my house).

Other than that, there was an electromechanical race game called "Speedway" that I played at a classic video game exhibit and found fascinating.

#11 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,800 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 9:27 PM

Marble Madness

#12 Dr Galaga OFFLINE  

Dr Galaga

    Dragonstomper

  • 676 posts
  • Location:NW Indiana

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 11:31 PM

Wow, only one?
Are multi-games allowed? If so, I'd have to pick my Ms. Pac-Man with the 96-in-1 MulitPac.

#13 potatohead OFFLINE  

potatohead

    River Patroller

  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sat Jan 3, 2009 11:59 PM

Tempest is a very close second.

#14 theking21083 OFFLINE  

theking21083

    Stargunner

  • 1,315 posts
  • Do you do the Donkey Kong?
  • Location:Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 12:16 AM

I'd have "Bombs Away" (because that's the one I actually do have in my house).

Other than that, there was an electromechanical race game called "Speedway" that I played at a classic video game exhibit and found fascinating.

Did you ever get that fixed up?


I would choose the arcade that I already have in my house, Donkey Kong 3.

#15 Crazy Climber OFFLINE  

Crazy Climber

    Crazy Climberer

  • 12,174 posts
  • Metamuciler
  • Location:NICHIBUTSU DELUXE

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 1:34 AM

I have several but if I could only have one it would be Q bert, which I actually do not currently own :(

#16 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 6:59 PM

Personally I'd like a Black Knight 2000 pinball, but if you're not counting pinballs I'll say Mappy.

#17 Cassidy Nolen OFFLINE  

Cassidy Nolen

    River Patroller

  • 2,804 posts

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 8:15 PM

I'd pick the hand assembled Pong that Al Alcorn wired and Nolan set up at Andy Capp's place....Al has it in his office (I think Nolan still technically "owns" it) and I have heard the offer of $10K passed around on it...its not for sale :)

Other than that, maybe one of the Stanford University Galaxy terminals that Computer History Museum has (that would entail a PDP mainframe to make it work...yeah, thats gonna happen) or the white Computer Space featured in Soylent Green (or the yellow one in Jaws). Still not sure that one on ebay a few years ago was the real deal.

As for general production machines, they are all "fairly affordable" and available, its just a matter of searching. I would say the Vectorbeam Speed Freak machine that I played as a kid at Six Flags over Texas would be pretty sweet to have.

CN

#18 Artlover OFFLINE  

Artlover

    Super Amazing Guy

  • 6,360 posts
  • Bad ass mother 4000, twice as fast as your ass.
  • Location:Miami, FL

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 8:27 PM

Death Race. :evil:

#19 mos6507 OFFLINE  

mos6507

    River Patroller

  • 4,916 posts

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 8:32 PM

Hehe, I had a Death Race. It just wasn't working so I gave it to Chris Wilkson.

That's the problem with owning a coinop. Even if it works, if you don't know how to fix it, what will you do when it invariably breaks down?

If you don't know how to fix coinops it's probably better to just build a MAME cab.

Edited by mos6507, Sun Jan 4, 2009 8:33 PM.


#20 edweird13 OFFLINE  

edweird13

    Stargunner

  • 1,025 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 9:10 PM

I have a Galaxian but it doesn't work and I have no idea how to fix it. But if I could have just one it would be a Battlezone or Tron.

#21 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,609 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 9:16 PM

If you don't know how to fix coinops it's probably better to just build a MAME cab.

I can fix coinops (more or less) and a MAME cab is still a better idea in several ways. I know it's heresy and all, but I've cut down on my dedicated cabs for time/maintenance alone in that respect. :P

Edited by remowilliams, Sun Jan 4, 2009 9:19 PM.


#22 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 16,091 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 10:04 PM

For childhood nostalgia, it's gotta be the rare Taito Space Invaders Pt 2 mirrored upright :D

However, that being said, for pure gameplay purposes, I need an arcade game that I've been playing for the past 20+ years and can still re-play again and again and still not tire of it.. and that list is very very short :lol:

So for that I say DEFENDER (a game I still am getting better at 20+ years later). Robotron, and Donkey Kong. All are easy enough to get, and I think I will this year. :ponder:

#23 cougar302b OFFLINE  

cougar302b

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR.

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 11:36 PM

So many greats to choose from. I would have to go with Thayers Quest completed. If not, Matmania.

#24 Artlover OFFLINE  

Artlover

    Super Amazing Guy

  • 6,360 posts
  • Bad ass mother 4000, twice as fast as your ass.
  • Location:Miami, FL

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 11:39 PM

I'd have "Bombs Away" (because that's the one I actually do have in my house).

And Klov still hasn't added the pictures you sent (still pending, along with the pictures someone else submitted.)

They do atleast have this mention for you: http://www.vaps.org/...ember_id=397020

#25 BigO OFFLINE  

BigO

    River Patroller

  • 4,457 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Sun Jan 4, 2009 11:57 PM

I'd have "Bombs Away" (because that's the one I actually do have in my house).

And Klov still hasn't added the pictures you sent (still pending, along with the pictures someone else submitted.)

They do atleast have this mention for you: http://www.vaps.org/...ember_id=397020

I was assured in a followup e-mail that they'd get to it. That was so long ago that I have given up on it completely.

I might update my project status on there when I eventually get back around to working on it, but I won't waste my time trying to post any pictures of any machine there again. I respect that it's a volunteer effort, that's why I went through the work to create the sized/cropped/white background/etc. pictures per their stated specifications . . . time wasted, lesson learned.

(It's generally a great reference site though and I recommend checking there when anybody is looking for information on old video games.)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users