IGNORED

Atari 520STFM with LG LCD TV?

Hi

I'm new to the ST, and will be taking delivery of a 520STFM in a few days' time. I have an LG LCD TV with composite, scart, and s-video inputs which I've managed to get working well with my 65XE (using one of those ready-made composite/s-video cables from ebay), and I'm wondering if the LG is going to be any use with the ST. I haven't ordered a monitor cable for the ST yet until I understand fully what I'm dealing with. I've been browsing monitor topics on this forum for the past hour but I'm still not sure what's required. Basically, I'm not bothered about games, so low and medium res modes don't interest me much. I'm mainly interested in running the ST in hi-res (mono) mode. And how about D-SUB connections? Is it possible to connect an ST that way? I have a 20" Samsung monitor which it would be nice to switch between the ST and the PC by swapping the sources between DVI and VGA.

Edited by flashjazzcat

There is an adapter you can make that will go from the 13pin monitor jack to a VGA connector to use most any standard VGA monitor with the ST in HiRes mode. It will not work in the 2 color resolutions. I use it with all my ST's on a NEC 21" LCD and it works great!!

post-6701-1236197626_thumb.png

post-6701-1236197789_thumb.png

st_vga.txt

Edited by Guitarman

There is an adapter you can make that will go from the 13pin monitor jack to a VGA connector to use most any standard VGA monitor with the ST in HiRes mode. It will not work in the 2 color resolutions. I use it with all my ST's on a NEC 21" LCD and it works great!!

post-6701-1236197626_thumb.png

That looks absolutely perfect, thanks! I'm sure my limited soldering skills will stretch to that. :) I just need to source a 13-pin DIN; I hear they are thin on the ground (I think my friend might have one).

for medium and low res I just bought one of these http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...em=390032184035