IGNORED

Amiga 500 games?

grandcross

Is there a list for games specifically for the Amiga 500? There's a lot of games which seem to require the Amiga 1000 or something better.

Also I'm still a newbie at vintage computing, so if I wanted an Amiga, which model should I get?

The only thing you need to know is how much memory a game requires. Every game that requires only 512k will work with the A500, if you have 1mb (a 512k expansion installed in the trapdoor on the bottom of your machine) you can run nearly every ECS game. A500, A1000 and A2000 are all pretty much the same thing game wise. The only games that won't work if you have 1mb of memory are those that require AGA which came at the end of the Amiga's life cycle and is only featured on the A1200/A4000.

Your best bet for games is the A500 with 1mb of memory. If you have the extra money you might want to shoot for a 1200.

Edited by Warriorisabouttodie

I second the 500 with 1mb. It will run the majority of the Classic-era games, and it's easier to find and easier to use than a stock 1000. I have both, and pull out the 500 when I want to use one. There were a couple really nice ones for sale here this week... check the Marketplace section.

Actually, the Amiga 1000 was the first model. The Amiga 500 was its successor, so the Amiga 1000 is not "better" in any hardware-wise way other than it's a "desktop" with detached keyboard, instead of the integrated keyboard-disk-drive computer, and some minor differences: The Amiga 1000 (at least the first models) requires the "Kickstart" disk which loads the main OS, which already is in ROM on the Amiga 500 and thus doesn't have to be loaded anymore (this is because Kickstart still received revisions during the A1000's short lifetime). Also, the A500 has 512K standard (1 MB with the standard expansion, and expandable to up to 8,5 MB to my knowledge) while the A1000 only has 256K standard (expandable to 512K with the standard expansion).