Jump to content

Photo

Talon Supercharger


24 replies to this topic

#1 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,317 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:53 PM

I was somewhere in the middle of testing some equipment and just generally playing with things and eventually wound up with an ST 'super setup' on the desk. :) Run ST, Mac and MS-DOS all in one setup. Even switch between TOS/DOS by simply hitting Alt-Ctrl-Backspace. Figured I'd post a pic as there are probably a lot of folks who have never heard of the Supercharger, let alone seen one.

IMG_1105.JPG

Monitor master / LCD not shown. Excuse the slightly yellow 1040, its a test unit. ;)

#2 Shredder11 OFFLINE  

Shredder11

    Chopper Commander

  • 222 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:09 AM

Thanks for posting, it looks a nice setup for sure!

#3 carmel_andrews OFFLINE  

carmel_andrews

    Quadrunner

  • 13,297 posts
  • Location:from somewhere, anywhere and no where

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:22 AM

Remo w....I think i have seen a supercharger, if you are referring to that recepticle standing ontop of what looks like a supra...I can't remember who marketed or manufactured it (Talon does not come to mind)
  • jhd likes this

#4 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,317 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:53 AM

Remo w....I think i have seen a supercharger, if you are referring to that recepticle standing ontop of what looks like a supra...I can't remember who marketed or manufactured it (Talon does not come to mind)

Yes, its the box on top of the Supra. It's very likely that if you had seen one it probably did not say Talon. As far as I can tell Talon Technology Inc, was the US distributor. In the UK it looks like it was sold by Condor Trading Ltd. The unit itself looks to be manufactured by Siemens for Beta Systems Computer in Germany.

I've got to say I'm very impressed by the units performance - given the time it was released of course, and given that all I/O and all video from the unit is passed over the DMA port. A unique way of doing things for sure.

It even manages to play Artic Fox on the IBM. :)

#5 TwiliteZoner OFFLINE  

TwiliteZoner

    Dragonstomper

  • 684 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:38 PM

Remo w....I think i have seen a supercharger, if you are referring to that recepticle standing ontop of what looks like a supra...I can't remember who marketed or manufactured it (Talon does not come to mind)

Yes, its the box on top of the Supra. It's very likely that if you had seen one it probably did not say Talon. As far as I can tell Talon Technology Inc, was the US distributor. In the UK it looks like it was sold by Condor Trading Ltd. The unit itself looks to be manufactured by Siemens for Beta Systems Computer in Germany.

I've got to say I'm very impressed by the units performance - given the time it was released of course, and given that all I/O and all video from the unit is passed over the DMA port. A unique way of doing things for sure.

It even manages to play Artic Fox on the IBM. :)


Did Talon ever release the mini-vga board? How well does Artic Fox run? I would imagine that is CGA?

#6 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,214 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:50 PM

Ugh. I've seen the original Arctic Fox on an IBM. Butt-ugly, it is!

Stick with the ST version. :D

#7 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,317 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:35 PM

Did Talon ever release the mini-vga board? How well does Artic Fox run? I would imagine that is CGA?

I have never seen or heard of the VGA board being released. Yes, Arctic Fox was running in CGA and well enough for you to drive around and shoot up your enemies in a reasonable fashion. I was quite surprised.

Stick with the ST version. :D

Indeed, while a very cool test if you actually want to play the game go with the ST. ;)

Since the Supercharger is a pretty obscure piece of equipment, and I've never seen the manual anywhere - I have scanned it and imaged the Utility/OS disks for it and will attach them here. :)



Attached File  SuperCharger_1.4.Manual.pdf   3.26MB   455 downloads Attached File  SuperCharger_Utility.OS.Disks.1.4.zip   1.19MB   220 downloads

#8 carmel_andrews OFFLINE  

carmel_andrews

    Quadrunner

  • 13,297 posts
  • Location:from somewhere, anywhere and no where

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:49 PM

I remember the name condor...(in relation to the supercharger)...So it must be

Wasn't there another pc emu for the ST (PC DITTO or something like that), i think it was sold with o/s disks and a 5.25 inch floppy drive

Edited by carmel_andrews, Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:49 PM.

  • jhd likes this

#9 evg2000 OFFLINE  

evg2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:N. Cal

Posted Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:19 PM

I've got one of those spectre CGRs (with the mac roms in it), are there manuals somewhere for it? and do I need any special software?

thanks,
Charles
www.evg2000.com

#10 Forrest OFFLINE  

Forrest

    Chopper Commander

  • 104 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:50 AM

I've got one of those spectre CGRs (with the mac roms in it), are there manuals somewhere for it? and do I need any special software?

thanks,
Charles
www.evg2000.com


Spectre GCR info here http://www.geocities...rd/spectre.html

PC Ditto was the PC emulator for the ST - it shipped on 3.5 inch floppies. I remember benchmarking it at 1 MHz, compared to the original PC which ran at 4.77 MHz 8088. The Atari 8-bit was faster!

Edited by Forrest, Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:54 AM.


#11 evg2000 OFFLINE  

evg2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:N. Cal

Posted Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:57 AM

Spectre GCR info here http://www.geocities...rd/spectre.html


thanks for the info

#12 Shredder11 OFFLINE  

Shredder11

    Chopper Commander

  • 222 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)

Posted Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:40 PM

Yes thanks very much. :thumbsup:

#13 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,515 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:15 PM

I was somewhere in the middle of testing some equipment and just generally playing with things and eventually wound up with an ST 'super setup' on the desk. :) Run ST, Mac and MS-DOS all in one setup. Even switch between TOS/DOS by simply hitting Alt-Ctrl-Backspace. Figured I'd post a pic as there are probably a lot of folks who have never heard of the Supercharger, let alone seen one.

IMG_1105.JPG

Monitor master / LCD not shown. Excuse the slightly yellow 1040, its a test unit. ;)



Greetings, can you talk a little about how it works with various software? games? music? et al? Do you get full sound with the Mac and DOS environments and is it fast enough to run games?

#14 TwiliteZoner OFFLINE  

TwiliteZoner

    Dragonstomper

  • 684 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:28 PM

I was somewhere in the middle of testing some equipment and just generally playing with things and eventually wound up with an ST 'super setup' on the desk. :) Run ST, Mac and MS-DOS all in one setup. Even switch between TOS/DOS by simply hitting Alt-Ctrl-Backspace. Figured I'd post a pic as there are probably a lot of folks who have never heard of the Supercharger, let alone seen one.

IMG_1105.JPG

Monitor master / LCD not shown. Excuse the slightly yellow 1040, its a test unit. ;)



Greetings, can you talk a little about how it works with various software? games? music? et al? Do you get full sound with the Mac and DOS environments and is it fast enough to run games?


I had very little trouble running the old Mac games on the GCR. I even had Prodigy up and running on my Mega.

#15 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,515 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:46 PM

I had very little trouble running the old Mac games on the GCR. I even had Prodigy up and running on my Mega.



with full stereo sound and framerate? what about dos games? that would be the ultimate setup for classic gaming to be sure, if only you could get the commodore os running :)

#16 Joebar OFFLINE  

Joebar

    Space Invader

  • 29 posts

Posted Fri May 15, 2009 8:05 AM

The SuperCharger was a beta systems AG product.
I knew a guy who worked there and visited their "office/lab" in Frankfurt back in the 80's, shortly before they released their long announced product.

http://vic20.de/html/atari_st.html

#17 carmel_andrews OFFLINE  

carmel_andrews

    Quadrunner

  • 13,297 posts
  • Location:from somewhere, anywhere and no where

Posted Sat May 16, 2009 9:53 AM

just curious as to whether you could 'upgrade' the supercharger....i.e the processor (like stick in a 2/3/486) or add memory or was the supercharger a closed unit which deterred upgraders/upgrading
  • jhd likes this

#18 TheGreatPW OFFLINE  

TheGreatPW

    Chopper Commander

  • 155 posts

Posted Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:44 PM

just curious as to whether you could 'upgrade' the supercharger....i.e the processor (like stick in a 2/3/486) or add memory or was the supercharger a closed unit which deterred upgraders/upgrading


A 286 and 386 upgrade was planned but was never released unfortunately. They did do some advertising for it in some of the STart magazines. It's too bad because a lot of us wanted the 386 SuperCharger as the PC was taking over the market and it would have been a nice way to keep the Atari ST active on our computer desks.

#19 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:41 AM

Spectre GCR info here http://www.geocities...rd/spectre.html


thanks for the info


I really need to finish that page. What else would you guys like to see there?

Of course come to think of it, Yahoo is thinking of yanking the geocities pages soon, so I might want to jump this and get a new server. :) (oopsie...)

Anyway, just to be frank, there were a lot of reasons why the ST was my least favorite Atari system, some personal reasons with people I had to deal with, but I held on to the ST/TT JUST BECAUSE of the Spectre. Man that was a neat bit of work. Just the idea that a 16 bit system could run another 16 bit system just as well if not FASTER was just amazing in the scope of emulators to me.

And Dave Small's writings were a lot of fun.

#20 carmel_andrews OFFLINE  

carmel_andrews

    Quadrunner

  • 13,297 posts
  • Location:from somewhere, anywhere and no where

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:56 PM

I think Dave Small was here a little while back...think he mentioned something about the spectre g c r and something else
  • jhd likes this

#21 tjb OFFLINE  

tjb

    Stargunner

  • 1,030 posts
  • Let's play soccer
  • Location:San Antonio, Texas

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:50 PM

Ugh. I've seen the original Arctic Fox on an IBM. Butt-ugly, it is!

Stick with the ST version. :D



For some silly reason I like playing those old CGA games. I picked up an XT compatible a while back just so I could run CGA games. It's all about growing older and being nostalgic. Brings back fond memories. I miss the DOS days :roll:

tjb

#22 TheGreatPW OFFLINE  

TheGreatPW

    Chopper Commander

  • 155 posts

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:32 PM

I really need to finish that page. What else would you guys like to see there?

Of course come to think of it, Yahoo is thinking of yanking the geocities pages soon, so I might want to jump this and get a new server. :) (oopsie...)

Anyway, just to be frank, there were a lot of reasons why the ST was my least favorite Atari system, some personal reasons with people I had to deal with, but I held on to the ST/TT JUST BECAUSE of the Spectre. Man that was a neat bit of work. Just the idea that a 16 bit system could run another 16 bit system just as well if not FASTER was just amazing in the scope of emulators to me.

And Dave Small's writings were a lot of fun.


Nice website page about the Spectre. David Small is an Atari legend. It's really too bad he couldn't continue developing that product as it was really incredible and gave people a reason to hold on to the ST a little longer. If SuperCharger came through with their 386 upgrade and Spectre development continued, it would have been a lot of fun to continue using the ST for a few years longer.

What do you mean you didn't like the ST because of personal reasons with people you had to deal with? Is that a reason to dislike a computer? That is one unusual reason. Do you mean people at Atari or something if we may ask?

#23 Thelen OFFLINE  

Thelen

    Dragonstomper

  • 546 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Tue Aug 4, 2009 2:04 AM

I really need to finish that page. What else would you guys like to see there?



well, i have a spectre too from the flea market but i never tried it... What i would like to see is some information from waht macintosh computers the roms can be removed and inserted in the spectre GCR.

And i think it would be nice to see some in action screenshots.

Thanks for the great site with information !

Edited by Thelen, Tue Aug 4, 2009 2:04 AM.


#24 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,317 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:53 PM

Bump for an old topic with a new video :)

 

 



#25 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:32 PM

That's awesome Remo!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users