IGNORED

Request: ICD R-Time-8 replacement

The original R-Time 8 cartridge is using the M3002-16PI as it's RTC. This component is obsolete and there is no replacement for this one.

After reading some topics at AtariAge I'm sure that there are people over here who can emulate the M3002 with a modern programmable micro controller (probaby with their eyes closed and one hand tied to a foot). I have no experience with these micro controllers nor do I have the software/hardware to play with them so I'm looking for someone who can do this for me.

I don't need a physical cartridge. I just need a tiny board (2 or 3 actually) which I can piggy back to an I.C. on the Black Box (such a board will likely also fit into a 130XE/800XL). Maybe a real PCB isn't even required as the original RT8 basically exists of only 2 logic components and a 32.768KHz crystal so it may fit on a wired experiment PCB.

Another thing is that the M3002 has 256bytes of internal memory (for alarm settings) which is not being used in the RT8. Would it be possible to make use of this memory on the Atari 8-bit without loosing 100% compatibility? Or even extend this memory? I have no idea what to store in that area yet but I'm sure I'll come up with something in the near future :-)

rt8.png

It's important that the hardware seen by the Atari is 100% identical with the RT8 as this is (was) more or less a standard. This way any time/date tool can be used without patching and without additional drivers (especially handy for disk based Sparta-Dos).

Also, exchanging the battery for a rechargeable modern Lithium equivalent would be welcome.

If anyone is interested to invest some time in it, I also have a data sheet of the M3002.

Hello Robert, guys

@Robert: Welcome back, we missed you

I can't help you when it comes to developing this thing. But I can help get these things off your hands. Meaning: I want one too, and if the price is low enough, maybe even more.

greetings

Mathy

He Mathy,