Jump to content

Photo

Alien Voice Box II


52 replies to this topic

#1 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed May 27, 2009 8:28 PM

I apparently have a disk for the Alien Voice Box II speech synthesizer called the VOICE BOX II - ATARI - SPEAKING, SPELLING, AND SINGING © 1983 THE ALIEN GROUP.

I have no idea why I have this because I never owned such a beast. If anyone has one and needs this disk here it is!

Here is what the Voice Box II does: http://www.atarimaga...I_For_Atari.php

Fletch

Attached Files



#2 Rhod OFFLINE  

Rhod

    Dragonstomper

  • 589 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Sun May 31, 2009 11:31 AM

GERMAN Version ;)

http://cgi.ebay.fr/w...em=330326559238

#3 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,842 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 2:00 AM

Just curious, is there anything on side 2 of that disk, I could be mistaken but there are possibly 3 sides or disks for this device.

I apparently have a disk for the Alien Voice Box II speech synthesizer called the VOICE BOX II - ATARI - SPEAKING, SPELLING, AND SINGING 1983 THE ALIEN GROUP.

I have no idea why I have this because I never owned such a beast. If anyone has one and needs this disk here it is!

Here is what the Voice Box II does: http://www.atarimaga...I_For_Atari.php

Fletch



#4 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 7:17 PM

Hmm, I don't think I bothered to check that. I will see what I can find :)

Just curious, is there anything on side 2 of that disk, I could be mistaken but there are possibly 3 sides or disks for this device.

I apparently have a disk for the Alien Voice Box II speech synthesizer called the VOICE BOX II - ATARI - SPEAKING, SPELLING, AND SINGING 1983 THE ALIEN GROUP.

I have no idea why I have this because I never owned such a beast. If anyone has one and needs this disk here it is!

Here is what the Voice Box II does: http://www.atarimaga...I_For_Atari.php

Fletch



#5 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Sat Feb 15, 2014 11:44 PM

Does anyone have one of these devices? Are there any videos or audio clips of this in operation?

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1983-alien-group-voicebox-VIA-DIGITIZE-TEXTFILES.jpg


#6 Ripdubski ONLINE  

Ripdubski

    Stargunner

  • 1,251 posts

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:06 AM

I would like to have but not been able to locate any.

#7 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,619 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:11 AM

Does anyone have one of these devices? Are there any videos or audio clips of this in operation?

Sadly I only have the original Voicebox... I would love to have a VB II



#8 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:23 AM

Sadly I only have the original Voicebox... I would love to have a VB II

Same here...



#9 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,103 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:04 AM

It would be great if someone could re-produce one of these. I'd also like to see someone make a new Midi-Mate so more people could play multi-player Midi-Maze.

 

Allan



#10 rockdoc2010 OFFLINE  

rockdoc2010

    Chopper Commander

  • 109 posts
  • working graves,
  • Location:Pittsburgh PA

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 6:19 PM

Well It should not be too far off the wish list.

 

Digital voice construction, text to speech and synthesizing tones and music is HOT right now due to the AVR and ARM microcontrollers

 

Siri is talking to millions with an almost perfect voice. Google the EMCIE voice monster.

 

I am having the last couple of parts on the way for my final chapter of building the CTS256A-AL2/SPO256A-AL2 code to speech phonetic allephone processor syntizer doohicky that I paid like 45$ for the chips back in 1984. It would have been a royal pain to figure out how to flash the eeprom and the 4016 chip was another twenty bucks then.

 

I now gave three different chip types going to be produced into various circuits so that my arduino will be bitching about his life to everyone who walks past his sensors.. get your AY-3-8910 for 11.75$ at B&C or BEST as there is a stand alone board that plays ST midi synth tunes and all the other seemingly cool easy to handle chips are still massively under-manufactured.

 

I need to different ones in addition to the 3.12mhz crystal for my dinosaur "voicebox" that I found the chips for two weeks ago when I went after a stash of 1050 chips I pulled out during a floppy upgrade I did back in 84.

 

I just threw 16$ at Lothorek for printing a PCB and figuring out how to give me stereo by adding a POKEY chip so I am sure one of these motivated atari/electro\modding gurus will have us paying happily for a remake of that unit that as well.

 

But on a good note... my 600xl will have a hard drive, output to svga,  probably be slated for a laptop conversion and will be carrying on conversations with me and my cats and possibly be correctly and efficiently talking to the birds.

 

We got to do something with those micro controllers since the market for girl robot parts has all dried up.



#11 NGFrankW OFFLINE  

NGFrankW

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:36 PM

Does anyone have one of these devices? Are there any videos or audio clips of this in operation?

Yes. Both versions.

One with a green and the other with a red label.

The audio signal is routed via the serial connector, like the tape audio channel, to the TV speaker.

 

Still searching for the disk of the first version.

 

Frank



#12 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:15 PM

Yes. Both versions.

One with a green and the other with a red label.

The audio signal is routed via the serial connector, like the tape audio channel, to the TV speaker.

 

Any chance you could take a high resolution of the top and bottom of the PCB? :)



#13 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:50 PM

Yes. Both versions.

One with a green and the other with a red label.

The audio signal is routed via the serial connector, like the tape audio channel, to the TV speaker.

 

Still searching for the disk of the first version.

 

Frank

Check out this post: http://atariage.com/...p/#entry1945979



#14 NGFrankW OFFLINE  

NGFrankW

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:10 AM

Oh. Thank you.

I have missed this.



#15 NGFrankW OFFLINE  

NGFrankW

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:22 AM

 

Any chance you could take a high resolution of the top and bottom of the PCB? :)

 

The Voice boxes uses the Votrax SC-01A Speech Synthesizer chip.

Some information and data books can be found here:

http://www.redcedar.com/sc01.htm

 

Atari has distributed the Voice Box II in Germany in its own packaging:

ATARIVoiceBoxII.jpg

 

 

And a quick (non Atari) demo here:

 

 

I have made some pictures of both PCB versions in the year 2009.
Let me search...

 

Frank

Attached Thumbnails

  • ATARIVoiceBoxII.jpg


#16 NGFrankW OFFLINE  

NGFrankW

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:19 PM

 

Any chance you could take a high resolution of the top and bottom of the PCB? :)

 

Here they are.

 

Voice Box PCB, Version I:

VoiceBoxITop.jpg VoiceBoxIBottom.jpg

 

Voice Box PCB, Version II:

VoiceBoxIITop.jpg VoiceBoxIIBottom.jpg

 

I have made these PCB pictures 2009 without the intention to reproduce them and hope the visible cables doesn't interfere to much for a possible reproduction :)

 

Frank



#17 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:25 AM

A reproduction would be cool :)



#18 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,639 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:20 PM

Would be very costly though. That voice chip is the same as used on arcade games Gorf, Q*Bert, Wizard of Wor, Reactor, and Vanguard and a bunch of pinball machines.

 

They are rare and expensive.

 

Would be brilliant to add the voice to those games though ! :)  (All of those games got an Atari version, but I don't think Reactor did while I do remember playing that on the 2600).


Edited by Level42, Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:21 PM.


#19 Nebulon OFFLINE  

Nebulon

    Stargunner

  • 1,617 posts

Posted Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:09 PM

 

Digital voice construction, text to speech and synthesizing tones and music is HOT right now due to the AVR and ARM microcontrollers

 

 

Sounds like you might be interested in this:

 

http://www.avoidspik...ips/sp025x.html

 

http://bitsavers.inf...y_datasheet.pdf

 

I'm hoping to see the day when this technology is taken farther.

 

After all, without it, I never would have known that fighter pilots were needed in sector wars.



#20 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:28 PM

Would be very costly though. That voice chip is the same as used on arcade games Gorf, Q*Bert, Wizard of Wor, Reactor, and Vanguard and a bunch of pinball machines.

 

They are rare and expensive.

 

Would be brilliant to add the voice to those games though ! :)  (All of those games got an Atari version, but I don't think Reactor did while I do remember playing that on the 2600).

There was a guy on ebay selling the SC-01A's for $25 for 1, but would throw in an additional one free.  I got a couple of them :)



#21 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,842 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:14 AM

 

The Voice boxes uses the Votrax SC-01A Speech Synthesizer chip.

Some information and data books can be found here:

http://www.redcedar.com/sc01.htm

 

Atari has distributed the Voice Box II in Germany in its own packaging:

 

 


 

I have made some pictures of both PCB versions in the year 2009.
Let me search...

 

Frank

What voltage is the power supply output listed for the alien voicebox?


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:16 AM.


#22 NGFrankW OFFLINE  

NGFrankW

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:43 AM

What voltage is the power supply output listed for the alien voicebox?

This is a 12V power supply.
It's not required for an ATARI 400,800 or 1200XL because they have already +12V on pin 12 of the SIO connector:

  
                             1 1
                     2 4 6 8 0 2
                     -----------
                    /o o o o o o\
                   /o o o o o o o\
                  -----------------
                    1 3 5 7 9 1 1
                              1 3
 
       1  clock in (to computer)
       2  clock out
       3  data in
       4  GND
       5  data out
       6  GND
       7  command (active low)
       8  cassette motor control
       9  proceed (active low)
      10  +5V/ready
      11  audio in
      12  +12V (400/800)
      13  interrupt (active low)

Frank



#23 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,639 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:27 PM

There was a guy on ebay selling the SC-01A's for $25 for 1, but would throw in an additional one free.  I got a couple of them :)


Want to sell me one ? I have a working Q*bert mainboard (for my still empty q*bert cab) with an untested soundboard so I'm hoping it is OK but even so it wouldn't hurt to have a spare at hand.

#24 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 12:32 PM

Want to sell me one ? I have a working Q*bert mainboard (for my still empty q*bert cab) with an untested soundboard so I'm hoping it is OK but even so it wouldn't hurt to have a spare at hand.

If I had an extra spare, I would :)  But out of the two I have left, 1 is set aside for a 2nd build of a 1450xl motherboard and the other is my spare in case one of the others fail... Sorry...



#25 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,639 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:25 PM

No problem at all, I fully understand, I try to keep spares for my arcade games as much as possible too :)
A 1450 XL..........wow.....just wow........I have only seen pictures of those, I guess none ever arrived in Europe...

Edited by Level42, Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:27 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users