Jump to content

Photo

Composite to VGA, how cheap?


6 replies to this topic

#1 S1500 OFFLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • 4,767 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:02 PM

If I wanted to run my TI-99/4A with a regular plain VGA monitor that has composite out, how much would an adaptor cost me? I know probably I could get a color TV cheap at a thrift store, but I don't want yet another CRT laying around the house for just 1 purpose. I have spare VGA monitors available, so I would rather use one of those.

If not composite(all VCRs aside), how much would some sort of adaptor from RF(coaxial) to standard VGA be?

#2 Reaperman OFFLINE  

Reaperman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,908 posts
  • Location:New Orleans, LA

Posted Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:52 PM

don't cheap out on a vga adapter. the ones for $50 new from asia are totally worthless.

the one I currently use is a deuce 2200. It does an excellent job, and I got it used for only $35--the same price as the worthless ones. just keep your eyes open for a similar used high-end scaler. They don't hold their value at all.

#3 icbrkr OFFLINE  

icbrkr

    Dragonstomper

  • 859 posts
  • Location:http://www.particles.org

Posted Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:00 AM

You can also pick up a small HDTV that has both VGA in and composite. That's my plan to get rid of many of my older CRT based monitors. Prices are running around 150 anymore which is cost effective enough to do it.

#4 Tursi ONLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,355 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:19 PM

Choose carefully if you do.. some HD devices don't like the signal output by the TI (and ColecoVision, and Genesis, and 2600, and probably all systems of that era outputting ~260 lines non-interlaced). I have an InFocus projector and it can't get a stable lock on the picture. My TI is outputting composite, my Coleco is running RF into a VCR and then I'm taking composite out of there, and the 2600 and Genesis both have SVideo mods installed. Running through a VGA interface seems to work fine, as well they work on normal TVs.

#5 S1500 OFFLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,767 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:22 PM

Getting a small HDTV seems to be more and more of an option. I can get one at any store, and I can use modern consoles on it, or just watch TV.

#6 Reaperman OFFLINE  

Reaperman

    Quadrunner

  • 5,908 posts
  • Location:New Orleans, LA

Posted Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:34 PM

Choose carefully if you do.. some HD devices don't like the signal output by the TI (and ColecoVision, and Genesis, and 2600, and probably all systems of that era outputting ~260 lines non-interlaced).

yep, that's why I'm stuck using an expensive scaler. even if an HD monitor accepts composite (which mine does), there's no telling if it will accept oddball game video.

#7 icbrkr OFFLINE  

icbrkr

    Dragonstomper

  • 859 posts
  • Location:http://www.particles.org

Posted Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:19 AM

Choose carefully if you do.. some HD devices don't like the signal output by the TI (and ColecoVision, and Genesis, and 2600, and probably all systems of that era outputting ~260 lines non-interlaced).

yep, that's why I'm stuck using an expensive scaler. even if an HD monitor accepts composite (which mine does), there's no telling if it will accept oddball game video.


So far, at least for me, all Sony TVs have been fine for older consoles. On the couple that I have, both have been able to display consoles going all the way back to a Coleco Pong unit without a problem.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users